Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-06-2006, 08:24 PM
BillyBoy BillyBoy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
I/O Errors

Since updating to the latest SD I suddenly have problems with the copy freezing on an I/O error. Here's the last few lines from the log file:
/Users
| 04:56:43 PM | Info | WARNING: Caught I/O exception(5): Input/output error
| 04:56:43 PM | Info | WARNING: Source: /Users/billsveinson/Music/iTunes/iTunes Music/Podcasts/Adobe Photoshop Killer Tips/Quickly Jumping to Different Layers.mp4, lstat(): 0
| 04:56:43 PM | Info | WARNING: Target: /Volumes/FW Boot/Users/billsveinson/Music/iTunes/iTunes Music/Podcasts/Adobe Photoshop Killer Tips/Quickly Jumping to Different Layers.mp4, lstat(): 0
| 04:56:43 PM | Info | Attempting to copy file using copyfile().
This has happened with both of my 80 GB external FW drives, one is a wall-powered standard-sized drive, and the other one is a bus-powered unit with a laptop drive. Both worked flawlessly with SD before. The failure is always as above, with the choking point always being an iTunes file. I managed to get the larger drive to complete a backup by deleting the offending file, but the small drive still chokes each time. An even bigger problem is the way that SD refuses to quit gracefully - I have to simply unplug the FireWire cable, which of course outrages the Finder and causes who-knows-what kind of corruption. Where to go from here?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2006, 12:47 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,291
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I'm certain the "new version" is a red herring, Bill -- the problem here is a hardware issue. If the system's locking up and requiring FireWire to be unplugged, it's likely that a bad sector is causing the FireWire bus to lock (which hangs the I/O subsystem).

Try using Disk Utility to erase and zero the drive. Then, give it another try and see if that works.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-08-2006, 11:48 AM
BillyBoy BillyBoy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
I'm certain the "new version" is a red herring, Bill -- the problem here is a hardware issue. If the system's locking up and requiring FireWire to be unplugged, it's likely that a bad sector is causing the FireWire bus to lock (which hangs the I/O subsystem).

Try using Disk Utility to erase and zero the drive. Then, give it another try and see if that works.
Looks like you nailed it - I zeroed the drive and tried the clone again - worked fine this time. Many thanks!

Would you care to elaborate on how this could happen and why the drive passed a check with every utility I have with flying colours? (DiskWarrior, TechTool Pro, Apple Disk First Aid) How far can I trust this drive for backups now?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-08-2006, 12:21 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,291
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Destination drives, just like source drives, can go bad. And Disk Utility/Warrior/etc don't test the drive surface. They check the drive structure, but don't try to read/write files.

In this case, the data area went bad... and zeroing found and re-mapped that.

Can you trust the drive? All drives have bad areas. But, usually, the drive re-maps them "automatically". In this case, it might not have had any more spares, so the drive couldn't remap transparently.

Zeroing will typically test everything and so it's good... for now. But if you end up with another problem, I'd replace the drive.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FAQ about image errors in Tiger kananga General 1 10-06-2005 08:20 AM
Disk errors repoted using SD yet Disk Utility works fine. s_dup General 5 08-22-2005 08:02 AM
Image errors under Tiger. dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 08-13-2005 06:56 PM
The meanings of Type errors - specifically 8! sumware General 4 05-10-2005 08:53 PM
SD hangs while cloning - no warnings, no errors martigan General 2 02-09-2005 03:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.