Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-25-2006, 04:20 PM
davsch davsch is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3
Booting from external disk drive

Greetings.

I used SuperDuper! to copy my Mac Mini internal hard drive (PPC G4) onto my external fire wire drive (Lacie d2 Extreme 160 GB) and designated the external drive as my startup disk. OS X boots fine from the external drive, but I can't get past the log in screen. The system doesn't recognize my user name and/or password, so I have had to restart and boot from the Mini. I have the Mini configured to automoatically log in to my account upon restart, but apparently this setting didn't transfer to the external drive. Also, The log in screen that appears when I boot from the external drive is different from the one that appears when I boot from the Mini. The latter screen has user photos and requests only the user password, whereas the screen that appears when I boot from the external drive has no photos and requests both user name and password.

I don't whether this is relevant to the problem, but I didn't create a new partition on my external drive for the cloned disk; I just copied it onto the already formatted, single partition external drive.

Any ideas?

Many thanks.

David
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-25-2006, 04:39 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's a bit weird, David. If you turn "Auto log in" off, and then use Smart Update to update the copy, does it work properly?

This almost sounds like a startup item (AntiVirus, Norton, etc) might be having some trouble starting properly...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2006, 05:17 PM
davsch davsch is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3
According to the info SuperDuper! provides, Smart Update mimics an "Erase then Copy" command. I have files on the external drive that are not backed up on the Mini and that I don't want to lose. Will running Smart Update erase them? When I originally cloned the Mini's hard disk I chose the "Copy newer files . ." option of the Backup all files script.

BTW, before purchasing SuperDuper! I tried to clone the disk using Carbon Copy Cloner and encountered the same problem: The external drive booted OS X but I couldn;t get past the log in screen. I'm not running any anticirus applications automatically on startup.

Cheers,

David
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2006, 05:25 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, Smart Update will definitely erase files on the destination that aren't on the source... and you can't really guarantee bootability if you use "Copy Newer" (as mentioned in the User's Guide).

You really should partition the external into data and backup partitions. That way, you can dedicate one to your bootable backup, and one to your storage needs, and manage both appropriately...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-26-2006, 12:49 PM
davsch davsch is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3
I bit the bullet, backed everything up (sigh) and did it the right way. Everything works fine now.

Cheers,

David
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-26-2006, 12:51 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Good, David -- one time process: I think you'll be a happier camper now.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-25-2006, 10:46 AM
xairbusdriver xairbusdriver is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Question A little bit of detail...

Quote:
I bit the bullet, backed everything up (sigh) and did it the right way.
Does this mean a simple re-use of SD, without using the "Copy New..." feature?

OR

Does this mean backing up the important stuff ( do we ever back up unimportant stuff?! ) on the external and reformatting the partitions?

One is certainly much easier! And I have a 250 Gig, in 3 partitions external to back up. Of course, I could simply back up the documents...

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-25-2006, 10:59 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
There are a few ways to do this, xairbusdriver. You can use a program like iPartition to partition the external "live", or you can copy things off, erase and partition, and copy things back...

I don't know exactly what David did, though -- perhaps he'll stop by and say.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-26-2006, 12:22 PM
xairbusdriver xairbusdriver is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
There are a few ways to do this, xairbusdriver. You can use a program like iPartition to partition the external "live", or you can copy things off, erase and partition, and copy things back...
I know you mention iPartition and I've nor really heard anything negative about it, but I wonder about having enough contiguous free space to create another partition ( there are now 3 ) on that drive. Of course, it need'nt be larger than to hold the OS and some utility apps ( iDefrag, TTP, etc. ). That would be faster than backing up all the files and starting over. But it also would mean being able to install the OS from the Installers. I think I was unable to install the OS from the DVD's when I first got that drive. I simply don't remember. But it would appear to be bootable since I can at least get to the password dialog.

I guess what I'm trying to do is create a minimum System, with a few apps, rather than a basic copy of my main drive. A "minimum System" may not really be that much smaller than a regular install!

Quote:
I don't know exactly what David did, though -- perhaps he'll stop by and say.
I've sent him a PM, hope he returns soon to the site/forums...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-26-2006, 02:06 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
There's a lot of copying involved if you use iPartition: in most cases, I'm not sure it would be faster to move things around than it would be to copy off/partition/back. But it's certainly more convenient!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An (Applescript) hack to automate mounting and unmounting external volumes kbradnam General 12 07-30-2007 07:12 AM
Back up drive can be found in start-up disk pref pane, but still cannot boot from aleks General 1 04-09-2006 08:40 PM
no boot, disappearing external drive jmlilly General 6 03-28-2006 08:35 PM
Disk Utility problem after cloning macWish General 38 10-01-2005 01:08 PM
odd issue with SD camner General 9 05-08-2005 10:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.