Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2014, 08:43 PM
corby corby is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 18
Using two or more backup drives

Hello,

I use two different target drives for my backups and rotate them periodically.

Whenever I switch backup drives, SuperDuper takes a long time (well, 30 seconds or so), to realize the previous backup drive is no longer available.

Any way to have SD remember two or more backup drives, so it doesn't waste time looking for the drive that's no longer connected?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-01-2014, 07:57 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Sorry this took so long to reply to - I've got to fix the forum's email notification system, I now realize, since I've migrated to a different email service. Apologies.

Anyway - that seems weird. We don't "look" for the drive that's no longer connected in any elaborate sense. We ask the system for a list of currently attached drives, and then look at their low-level IDs to match.

Perhaps one of the drives you have attached isn't responding quickly when we access it?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-04-2014, 07:38 PM
corby corby is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 18
I didn't get an email notification to your response either. So, sorry I took a long time to check back.

Well, my two drives are named "backup 1" and "backup 2". Last week, I backed up to "backup 2", and promptly took it offsite.

This week, with no external drives connected, I launched SD and watched the beach ball spin for 20 to 30 seconds, before the dialog popped up...I have attached a screen shot.

It's repeatable too. I closed SD and re-opened it several times. It seems it really wants the previous drive until told otherwise. Once a new drive is selected it will remember that one, until it's not longer available.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2014-05-04 at 4.34.49 PM.jpg (51.9 KB, 78 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-04-2014, 08:46 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, hopefully you're getting them now - it should be OK.

As I said, the beach ball spinning is because something that's attached (or a network mount - something in the volume subsystem) is timing out. It's not because you disconnected the drive...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Startup Disc and Hard Drive Partitioning Questions Paint Guy General 15 10-27-2010 02:25 PM
Backup contents of 2 internal drives > 1 backup drive? hcn General 3 01-25-2009 04:52 PM
Safe to work off of external drive's backup? blackant General 3 06-29-2008 08:34 PM
Server drive won't mount after backup rhennosy General 1 11-09-2007 03:49 PM
large discrepancy between internal and backup drives ncmphoto General 3 09-26-2007 04:19 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.