Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-29-2013, 04:33 PM
Dan Lester Dan Lester is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 58
no, I don't want to back up with Time Machine!

Have been using SuperDuper for many many years, and I depend on it. But just recently, on my iMac 10.6.8, whenever I command a copy with SD, my Mac asks me if I want to back up with Time Machine. Um, no, that's why I'm backing up with SD! Time Machine is turned off in System Preferences and as far as I know has never been turned on. Why has it wanted to start asking me this question, and how can I turn that off? Never used to get that message. Somehow, SD is triggering that question.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-29-2013, 04:39 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Are you doing erase-then-copy backups?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-29-2013, 04:44 PM
Dan Lester Dan Lester is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Are you doing erase-then-copy backups?
Yes, I am. I should say that this is for occasional manual backups. I do scheduled nightly and weekly backups, and this question doesn't seem to come up. Those are, I believe, just smart updates.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-29-2013, 05:01 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
This is the way Time Machine works. When you erase a drive, it prompts you to see if you want to use it for Time Machine, whether Time Machine is on or not.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-29-2013, 06:09 PM
Dan Lester Dan Lester is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
This is the way Time Machine works. When you erase a drive, it prompts you to see if you want to use it for Time Machine, whether Time Machine is on or not.
No kidding? Never knew that. Thanks much. I just didn't recall that happening when I did manual backups.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Machine Issue with Restored Clone sdsl General 3 10-14-2012 08:18 PM
Time Machine Copy jerrykrinock General 1 04-02-2010 01:36 PM
Needed: Time Machine and SuperDuper guidance kapalama General 7 08-13-2009 07:55 AM
A different angle on SD & Time Machine integration badlydrawnboy General 10 10-26-2007 08:37 PM
A SuperDuper Back Up Strategy Bagelturf General 3 09-09-2007 01:23 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.