Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-08-2009, 06:13 PM
tickedoff tickedoff is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
SuperDuper messes up

Posting email to the developer here as well in case someone else can help me.

Quote:
Hi,

I had a full backup of my computer when I was running tiger, along with the Time Machine backups on my external HD. I ran a smart update that said it was going to keep the Time Machine backups safe when it backed up... well it didn't. It erased all my time machine backups, and even more puzzling, now when it is trying to do a full backup through Time Machine (because it thinks it's the first one because the others were deleted...) it gives an error saying there is not enough space to back up, with only 20 GB free. Wow, that's very odd considering my internal HD has 80 GB used right now, and the full backup is around 80 GB. But no, now it says 275 GB are used on the external (instead of about 140 GB used previously). How in the world?

Please tell me how to restore my Time Machine backups, as well as how to get my external HD back to normal. It should not say 275 GB are used and give an error due to not enough space when Time Machine tries to back up.

And I think I'll be switching to Carbon Copy Cloner.

Please reply asap.

Aaron
Additional details: Running latest version of superduper, OS 10.5.8, Lacie 320 GB external HD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-08-2009, 07:52 PM
tickedoff tickedoff is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Verifying the disk shows some new problems (note that none of these existed before running the superduper backup):

Quote:
Verifying volume “LaCie Disk”
Checking Journaled HFS Plus volume.
Checking Extents Overflow file.
Checking Catalog file.
Checking multi-linked files.
Incorrect number of file hard links
Checking Catalog hierarchy.
Checking Extended Attributes file.
Checking multi-linked directories.
Incorrect number of directory hard links
Checking volume bitmap.
Volume Bit Map needs minor repair
Checking volume information.
Invalid volume free block count
(It should be 6119108 instead of 6080060)
The volume LaCie Disk needs to be repaired.

Error: Filesystem verify or repair failed.

Developers: I highly suggest you take down the latest update before others get this problem as well. Don't know if it's just the latest update that would cause this, or some number of updates back.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2009, 09:51 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
This was NOT due to SuperDuper, tickedoff. We do not do anything that could affect the drive at a low level like this. Some other failure occurred...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Superduper fails after upgrade to Snow Leopard josephc General 2 09-12-2009 10:18 PM
Needed: Time Machine and SuperDuper guidance kapalama General 7 08-13-2009 07:55 AM
SuperDuper prevents MacBook Pro from sleeping scotty321 General 2 06-14-2008 07:40 PM
New to Mac and to SuperDuper - Need a little help MikeG General 15 02-14-2008 10:35 PM
A word of praise for SuperDuper! MMM General 3 06-21-2006 10:08 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.