Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-29-2009, 11:04 PM
nosillacast nosillacast is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3
Question Why do my backups take so long?

I have 250GB of disk space used out of 300GB on my Mac Book Pro. Running Snow Leopard but this behavior was identical on Leopard.

I did my weekly (smart) backup on Monday. Between Monday and Tuesday I did some email, and browsed the web.

Ran the (smart) backup again on Tuesday. it said that it evaluated 890,000 files, and copied 233,000 files and it took 45 minutes to run.

Now why would it copy nearly a quarter of a million files as though I had changed them in one single day? I wouldn’t care but I wouldn't think an incremental backup like this should take more than a couple of minutes.

Allison Sheridan
NosillaCast Podcast at http://podfeet.com
A technology geek podcast with an EVER so slight Macintosh bias!
Follow me at http://twitter.com/podfeet
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-30-2009, 07:59 AM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
See this related topic:

Smart update of cloned drive copies ~250K files
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2009, 09:01 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I explain this in some detail in the Shirt Pocket blog, Allison, so take a quick look there... (it's referenced in the post sjk pointed you to).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-30-2009, 09:26 AM
nosillacast nosillacast is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
I explain this in some detail in the Shirt Pocket blog, Allison, so take a quick look there... (it's referenced in the post sjk pointed you to).
hmmm...I had read about the compression issue in your blog a while back but didn't read all the way to the bottom. This explanation suggests that for some reason I have a quarter of a million compressed files? Doesn't that seem rather unlikely, or maybe OSX just keeps a lot of stuff compressed?

I did a clean install of Snow Leopard btw, so I can verify I didn't copy any significant number of compressed files.

Allison Sheridan
NosillaCast Podcast at http://podfeet.com
A technology geek podcast with an EVER so slight Macintosh bias!
Follow me at http://twitter.com/podfeet
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-30-2009, 09:27 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, not at all unlikely, Allison - the OS and default applications have a lot of files in them...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
smart_backup


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SD and TM backups - what goes first? Moses3d General 14 02-19-2008 01:53 PM
Saving backups? Necessary for scheduled backps? gcoghill General 2 12-09-2007 11:43 PM
Scheduled Backups Don't Run Drdul General 3 08-07-2007 06:45 AM
Scheduling Rotating backups Tangobozo General 1 09-18-2006 06:49 AM
Feature request: "Run scheduled backups NOW" option ChicagoLarry General 1 09-11-2006 12:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.