Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-28-2009, 10:45 AM
dradovsky dradovsky is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Failure to restore from sparse image

I attempted to restore my hard drive from its sparse image made by SuperDuper using Smart Update and stored on a USB Drobo.

I used Disk Utility from my OSX 10.5.4 installation disc.

In Disk Utility I mounted the sparse image, dragged it to the Source box, dragged the target drive to the Destination box, and then clicked on "Restore" to start the process. I did not check the "Erase" box.

When I checked this morning to see if the restore worked, I found a message stating that "Restore Failed -- No Directory".

Yikes.

Did I do something wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-28-2009, 11:38 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,294
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Assuming that -- hopefully -- your Drobo was properly formatted for the Mac, and supports large files -- try checking the checkbox. It's quite possible that Disk Utility had a problem hitting a folder that was there already.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-28-2009, 01:04 PM
dradovsky dradovsky is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Do you mean checking the "erase" box?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-28-2009, 05:57 PM
dradovsky dradovsky is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Interesting...as you suggested I did check the "erase" box on the Disk Utility Restore page...and it worked. It also took much less time to copy the mounted sparse image onto the destination drive...

But I am puzzled as to why my newly restored hard drive is showing it holding only 72 gig or so of data when the sparse image that it was restored from was around 120 gig?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-28-2009, 06:23 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,294
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The internal size of the image was likely 72GB, while the external size included some free space, etc.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SD not unmounting sparse image volumes acronce General 1 09-14-2008 11:22 AM
Hangs while backing up to network mounted sparse image acronce General 9 09-11-2008 01:25 PM
Cant restore sparse image. need some help poose22 General 5 03-03-2008 01:29 AM
Can't restore from sparse image when booting from install disc rdlsmith General 5 06-26-2006 07:43 PM
Sparse image from aborted DMG backup? Winston General 9 10-22-2005 12:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.