Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-30-2009, 09:50 AM
SteveC SteveC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Too Few Files in Clone

I'm wondering if anybody has any thoughts about this:

My brother is using SuperDuper to back up a Macbook. He backs up the whole drive regularly using smartupdate. Lately he's noticed that only two files got copied -- after a week or more of surfing, emailing, etc.

We checked the internal drive with disk utility, found a minor problem and fixed it. And we repaired permissions. And we ran MacJanitor (the progress bar never stopped moving, but in other ways it seemed to finish its work).

Then he did an erase-and-backup. This seemed to work normally, with the close using up slightly less space on the backup than the source -- but with one problem.

Superduper reported that 729,265 files were evaluated and 483,177 were copied.

Does that make sense? Does he have a good backup? And if not, what does he do?

Thanks very much to anyone who has any suggestions--
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-30-2009, 09:54 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That seems really weird, Steve. Could you send the log into support with the send to shirt pocket button?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2009, 09:42 PM
SteveC SteveC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Just to complete the loop, Dave recommended that we go back to version 2.1.4. That did the trick -- totally normal behavior after that.

Remember that this is under Tiger.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-01-2009, 10:09 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Right. It wasn't skipping files - it was just the Intel/10.4.x/v2.5 "status display doesn't update" issue that's mentioned elsewhere on the forums.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Backup user files suppress system files from a clone freestef General 2 02-25-2009 02:59 PM
Failed to copy files from Macintosh HD to Clone HD zimcrusher General 1 09-12-2007 11:21 AM
Persistent failure to copy radicalkat General 1 08-10-2007 08:00 PM
Full clone, except for 2 files zazou-zorro General 1 10-21-2006 09:12 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.