Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-27-2008, 11:55 AM
Mellfee Mellfee is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
Files being added when I clone

Hi,
For some reason when I clone my HD SuperDuper has started adding files.
My Primary consists of;

Applications
Library
System
Users

But the clone consists of;

Applications
dev
etc
Home
Library
Net
System
tmp
Users
var

Why is this happening?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-27-2008, 01:36 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Those are normal folders present on the source. If they're visible on the destination, it's because -- for whatever reason -- the OS is not returning that they're hidden when we ask for the files' attributes.

They're not being added, though -- you're just able to see them. Nothing to really worry about, and they'll likely be dynamically hidden when you start up from the drive.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-27-2008, 01:50 PM
Mellfee Mellfee is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Those are normal folders present on the source. If they're visible on the destination, it's because -- for whatever reason -- the OS is not returning that they're hidden when we ask for the files' attributes.

They're not being added, though -- you're just able to see them. Nothing to really worry about, and they'll likely be dynamically hidden when you start up from the drive.

Ok, thanks. Its weird to me because I have never seen them in previous backups.
I tried booting from the clone but it wouldn't start up. It's the first time I have cloned since upgrading to Leopard so I upgraded SuperDuper and am now cloning again to see if it makes any difference.

Im on a Mac using Leopard on a G4
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-27-2008, 02:13 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Make sure the backup is properly partitioned as "Apple Partition Map"...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-27-2008, 03:48 PM
Mellfee Mellfee is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Make sure the backup is properly partitioned as "Apple Partition Map"...



Yes, it is Apple Map Partitioned.

Im almost done making another backup so I'll post my results.

I'm still a little perplexed. I started using SuperDuper over a year ago and Im sure I remember that the clone looked (as I expected a clone to) exactly the same as the source. So its strange to me that now that amongst my normal files there are these extra files that I have never even heard of before.

Thanks for your help, by the way.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-27-2008, 04:30 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
What brand/model of drive is this? It's not a MyBook, is it?

(Different versions of OSX have different bugs; Leopard, on your system, is returning different attributes for these folders, for whatever reason. They were always there, though, if hidden.)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-27-2008, 04:49 PM
Mellfee Mellfee is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
What brand/model of drive is this? It's not a MyBook, is it?

(Different versions of OSX have different bugs; Leopard, on your system, is returning different attributes for these folders, for whatever reason. They were always there, though, if hidden.)



Im backing up to a Lacie big Disk Extreme (1tb).

It's Leopard 10.5.4 and it's the first back up i've done since upgrading. As I mentioned I am currently making another back up after just upgrading superduper to 2.5 (it's taken 4.5 hours so far...!). Hopefully it might solve the problem.

Im really not techie enough to fully understand what could cause it. The important thing is that my data is saved and that I can boot from it. Curiosity is driving me to seek what this particular issue is.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-27-2008, 04:54 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK. And it's FireWire?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-27-2008, 04:58 PM
Mellfee Mellfee is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
FW 800

Partitioned
Mac OS Extended (Journaled)
Apple Map partition
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-27-2008, 05:02 PM
Mellfee Mellfee is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
If I highlight my Macintosh HD I see the normal four folders; Applications, Library, System, Users.
Under normal circumstances if I do a full back up should the clone show the same initial folders?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-27-2008, 05:04 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
At least those, yes.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-27-2008, 05:13 PM
Mellfee Mellfee is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
I guess I had always expected to see only those. Your saying its normal to see others, right?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-27-2008, 05:20 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If it's not the startup drive, you might see other folders too, if they don't return the 'hidden' attribute when we request. Certainly, all the folders you've indicated in your messages are present on the source...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-27-2008, 05:44 PM
Mellfee Mellfee is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
Ok, well the new backup is finished and I just booted up from it fine. It is also now showing exactly the same folders as the source.

Is it ok for me to assume that upgrading to Superduper 2.5 helped?

Dave, thank you very much for your time and advice. Although I now have Time Machine with Leopard I haven't considered using it because Super Duper seems to do exactly what I need; an emergency back up that I can boot from. A wonderful piece of software and worth every penny.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-27-2008, 06:23 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I didn't realize that you were using 2.1.4 to copy Leopard, Mellfee - that would definitely make a big difference -- but the 'other' visible folders are something you do see on some systems.

Glad you're all set!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Failed to copy files from Macintosh HD to Clone HD zimcrusher General 1 09-12-2007 11:21 AM
Persistent failure to copy radicalkat General 1 08-10-2007 08:00 PM
Full clone, except for 2 files zazou-zorro General 1 10-21-2006 09:12 AM
Can I Clone My Hardrive to an External Drive Already Containing Files On IT? mosk General 3 05-03-2006 08:22 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.