Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2008, 02:28 PM
rmcellig rmcellig is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
cloning drive

My brother in law just sold his Mac Mini and will be getting a new iMac next week. Hi Mac Mini drive has a VMWare Fusion partition. How can he clone his entire drive to an external drive including the VMWare partition? I don't think that Superduper can do this because it cannot recognize a PC volume (I think). What is the best strategy so that he can bring all his data over from the Mac Mini to his new iMac?

He has to back up his Mac Mini to an external drive because the person who bought his Mini will be picking it up today.

Thanks!!

Randy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-26-2008, 02:29 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,291
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Maybe this article will help, Randy:

http://www.hackszine.com/blog/archiv..._hard_dri.html
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-26-2008, 06:59 PM
justflybob justflybob is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 22
Not to butt in where I really wasn't asked, but that article about cloning may in fact confuse the issue. If you don't have a BootCamp partition (and I'm guessing you don't as VMware Fusion doesn't require one) then just do a clone of the entire Mac OS X drive with SD! It will clone the VMware Fusion partition as well.

I didn't even know about SD! until after I had installed first Parallels (ugh) and then VMware Fusion (yeah!) and SD! will clone the VMware Fusion partition just fine.

I would recommend reinstalling the VMware Tools in Fusion when you fire it up after you clone to the iMac though, just to be sure your not subject to any iMac vs. Mac Mini differences. You may also experience some speed issues at first, but this is normal. VMware Fusion needs to know what system AND Mac it is running on before it will run at optimal speed.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-27-2008, 09:55 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,291
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I suggested that article in case "partition", in the message, meant "partition" (e.g. BootCamp in use by Parallels or VMWare), as opposed to a VMWare or Parallels volume stored on your regular HFS+ volume.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-27-2008, 04:01 PM
justflybob justflybob is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 22
My bad. And I would agree that the two terms get tossed around too much as the same thing.

VMware Fusion creates a volume on the OS X HFS+ drive where Windows can be installed.

Windows (in my case XP Pro SP2) calls this volume that VMware Fusion created a partition.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Cloning system to new drive videojanitor General 9 01-21-2008 02:06 PM
Please help me! Hard drive failing, cloning errors... jasong General 3 10-22-2007 09:24 AM
Best process to replace internal hard drive using SuperDuper!? emikysa General 26 02-09-2007 05:03 PM
Long Hang While Copying BackerUpper General 4 06-12-2006 08:26 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.