Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2005, 09:34 PM
temp444 temp444 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Extra files ? (automount, dev, mach_kernel)

I have 3 external FW hard disks.

On Drive A Partition 1, I installed OSX and all the latest patches to make it a baseline OSX.

Then I used SuperDuper to copy all files from A1 to Drive C, Partition 1.
C1 now shows:
[] Applications
[] Library
[] System
[] Users

Then I used SuperDuper to copy all files from A1 to Drive C, Partition 2.
C2 now shows:
[] Applications
[] automount
[] dev
[] Library
mach_kernel
[] Network
[] System
[] Users

Why are there extra files ??? automount, dev, mach_kernel, Network ???

Regards
David
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-04-2005, 09:39 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
They're completely normal, David, and are also present on the other drive: they're just hidden by the Finder when you boot from the volume.

(If you want to check, open the terminal and use the following command:

ls /

That'll show you the files that are *really* in the "root" of your boot volume!)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-05-2005, 07:36 AM
Timmy Timmy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 93
I have noticed that the above mentioned files are usually visible right after performing a full back-up. After a while they do become hidden.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-05-2005, 08:59 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That could be a classic Finder problem where Finder doesn't always update to show you files that it didn't copy itself. Similarly, it sometimes doesn't "hide" things that it didn't know were there.

It's hard to work around this kind of bug, but you can always "prod" the finder into refreshing by restarting it -- to do so, Cmd-Option-Click on the Finder icon in the dock and choose "relaunch". That should refresh anything that's a bit behind the times.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-06-2005, 11:24 PM
temp444 temp444 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2
Thankyou.

Thankyou for responses. Much appreciated.

BTW When I copied from an OSX image file (instead of from a system drive), there were no extra files!

Last edited by temp444; 03-06-2005 at 11:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-07-2005, 02:22 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Understood. They're not really "extra" -- honest!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple recommends excluding files JAC II General 6 07-31-2008 07:11 PM
How do I back up to a volume that has files on it? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 05-02-2004 01:33 PM
unclear about some usage issues camner General 7 04-02-2004 09:57 PM
Problem running Backup - all files script? Here's a solution! dnanian General 0 01-12-2004 04:32 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.