Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-06-2009, 11:57 PM
macjohn macjohn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
new internal hard drive question

Hello,
I am installing a new internal hard drive of higher capacity than the one that
came with my PowerMacG4..I will keep the old drive in the tower, but want to
use the new drive as my start-up one going forward. Will I only need to copy over my bootable SuperDuper backup of my existing drive to the new one or do I have to actually use the OS 10.5 install disc to install 10.5 on my new drive and then copy over the backup drive (I suppose minus the old system folder ?) to my new drive to make it bootable? I'm just unsure if SuperDuper made an exact clone of my old drive I guess..when I do a SmartBackup it states it is copying all files except some "system specific ones Apple recommends not including" so I assume those files wouldn't be on my new drive either, but would that prevent it from being my startup volume? Or can I simply copy over my old volume onto my new hard drive to include everything? Thank you for any help anyone may provide
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2009, 08:31 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, assuming the drive is properly partitioned and formatted, you only need to make a "Backup - all files" with "Erase, then copy" or "Smart Update".

If you'll drop me an email to the support address, I'll provide you with some more detailed instructions.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-2009, 11:40 AM
macjohn macjohn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Thank you

Thank you for your detailed instructions..it indeed was extremely simple to
add my second hard drive to my PowerMacG4 and format, partition, and
copy over my SuperDuper clone..everything is working perfectly ..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-2009, 11:42 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,293
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Great: glad you're all set, John, and congratulations!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Dumb question re need to have external hard drive turned on for scheduling of backup Mike Blayney General 4 09-21-2008 05:24 PM
Migrating from one hard drive to another zestyping General 3 07-25-2008 08:22 AM
Help with getting info from external SD copy to new internal hard drive. MsMcGee General 9 01-27-2008 09:36 PM
Best process to replace internal hard drive using SuperDuper!? emikysa General 26 02-09-2007 05:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.