Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-01-2009, 02:00 AM
Lucas Lucas is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2
time machine question

Sorry for the newb question
I have an intel iMac and I use a Lacie Hub for Time Machine it works great!
I just purchased SD so I can do a weekly backup in case my office burns down or if some lowlife steals my Mac AND the Lacie Hub.
I also purchased a second 1TB Lacie (that I will keep off-site) so I can use SD to make weekly backups.
My question should I use SD to copy everything from my original Lacie Hub (ie the Time Machine files) onto the new 1TB Lacie?
Im thinking this might be more useful than doing a standard backup of the iMac?
Thanks in advance for any advice!
Lucas
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-01-2009, 09:20 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, the only LaCie Hub I can find is an actual hub, not a drive, so I'm not quite sure what you're using. But, if you're going to use Time Machine with one drive, you can copy that data to the other with SD, but you should turn TM off when you do it.

However, I'd create a real, bootable SD! backup on a separate partition on the drive (see Help > Frequently Asked Questions in SuperDuper!) so you have a bootable backup in addition to your Time Machine data.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-01-2009, 05:59 PM
Lucas Lucas is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2
What I'm using for Time Machine is actually called a "Lacie miniHUB USB and Firewire Hard Drive 250GB" so basically it's a hard drive with a confusing name
Thanks for your reply. I think I'll keep things really simple and will do a weekly backup of my iMac hard drive direct to the new 1TB Lacie (using "backup all files" and SMART UPDATE).
This WILL give me a bootable backup won't it?
The 1TB drive will then be taken off site for the week.
And I'll have TM doing it's own thing with the old 250BG miniHUB drive that stays connected to the iMac to cover any more immediate deletions etc.
This should cover my needs in the simplest and fastest way.
Thanks again.
Lucas
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-01-2009, 06:09 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
If the drive is properly partitioned (etc - see the Frequently Asked Questions section of the forum as I said before), it should give you a bootable backup. Of course, test it...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Needed: Time Machine and SuperDuper guidance kapalama General 7 08-13-2009 07:55 AM
Error 18 in Time Machine.... iith096 General 4 10-20-2008 03:57 PM
Yet Another Time Machine Question (Re: Space) Tegeril General 5 03-14-2008 09:09 AM
newbie question - SD & Time Machine AlVT General 8 03-13-2008 12:31 AM
A different angle on SD & Time Machine integration badlydrawnboy General 10 10-26-2007 08:37 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.