Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-04-2005, 03:34 PM
sngecko sngecko is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
New HDD, Got Tiger on Another HDD - Clone?

I've just set up Tiger perfectly on my PBG4 and all settings are as I want them. But I am to receive a new 100GB drive and a Firewire case for this hdd, but I want to clone this drive to the new one. Any ideas? It doesn't seem like Super Duper!'s Safety Clones will do the trick -- I want a full clone of the entire drive. I can't go with CCC because it is not yet compatible with Tiger. Again, any ideas?

SNGecko
PBG4 Ti 1GHz, 1GB RAM, 10.4
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-04-2005, 05:12 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Sure: just do "Backup - all files"! That'll copy everything except temporary files and VM swap files (etc)... it's exactly what you want.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-05-2005, 01:53 AM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by sngecko
I can't go with CCC because it is not yet compatible with Tiger.
And I can't imagine anyone going back to using CCC after any "serious" use of SuperDuper!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-05-2005, 07:34 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, let's not knock CCC here, guys. It's a good program, and Mike did a lot of pioneering work in this area. He deserves both respect and his success.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-05-2005, 04:59 PM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
Sorry, I didn't mean to give the impression of "knocking" CCC. I paid for and used it before SD! and it still serves other people very well.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-05-2005, 03:35 AM
sngecko sngecko is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Many thanks

Thanks for the help; I look forward to trying it when the hdd gets here. I think I misunderstood "Backup" to mean un-bootable copy; I thought that "Clone" meant bootable copy. Obviously, I was downright wrong.

-SNGecko
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-05-2005, 08:01 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,295
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Nope -- everything that SD! copies is bootable *if* the source selections are bootable (and the device supports booting).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tiger Prep Advice jacebc General 9 03-04-2007 10:56 AM
Can't restart from Safety Clone kbrigby General 2 05-01-2005 01:34 PM
Applying system update to safety clone na goodman General 3 02-20-2005 03:41 PM
Safety Clone fails to start up after shut down macWish General 4 06-23-2004 05:29 PM
PGP from a Safety Clone wavenumber General 4 06-17-2004 01:51 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.