Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-08-2007, 06:46 PM
xylonets xylonets is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Feedback? RAID 0 + Nightly SuperDuper Clone

I'm in the process of reconfiguring my hard drives + backup configuration and wanted to see if I could get any feedback on a particular configuration that I *believe* is promising.

First of all, I have a PowerMac G5 and 4 500GB SATA drives. 2 Drives internal and 2 Drives external housed in Icy Dock enclosures and connected via a Firmtek PCIe SATA adapter. My initial test of a RAID 0 on the external disks indicated a roughly 33% increase in speed reading and writing. I knew RAID 0 was fast but this is really fast! With that said, I'm painfully aware that RAID 0 can be a dangerous configuration to run as either drive failing kills the RAID. But honestly I'm not willing to take the performance hit that would come with a RAID 1 and it seems to me that losing a non-raided drive, be it the boot drive or data drive is why we are all using apps like SuperDrive in the first place--reliable backups are the only proof against drive failure. I know several sysadmins that don't even trust RAID 5 for that matter.

The configuration I'm asking for feedback on is pretty simple...
Internal: 2 Drives RAID 0
External: 2 Drives RAID 0
Nightly SuperDuper Clone of internal to external.

Throw in 2 more drives and I'll do monthly offsite rotations too.

What do you think? Is this wise or not? Any comments or other ideas are welcome.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-08-2007, 07:04 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Personally, I'm willing to give up speed -- especially on a backup set -- for more reliability, and wouldn't use RAID0 as a backup destination.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2007, 07:44 PM
xylonets xylonets is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Ok, you said on the backup set...

So you wouldn't run RAID 0 as the backup drive but otherwise you would run it as the system drive?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-08-2007, 07:57 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, I wouldn't run RAID 0 as a system drive either, but if you're going to take that risk I'd endeavor to be more redundant on the backup.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Does SuperDuper really clone the complete harddisk with partion for Mac & Windows? llords General 8 11-01-2007 11:44 PM
Can SuperDuper make a Bookatble Clone? iLLuMiNaTiCa General 3 06-09-2007 06:57 AM
SuperDuper! and RAID 1 UWS General 2 10-27-2006 11:57 AM
Bug in SuperDuper clone? zack General 3 01-24-2005 12:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.