Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2006, 08:14 PM
joules joules is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Sandbox partition too small

I've given up trying to fix this on my own and really hope that someone here can help. Might help to point out that I'm on my first-ever laptop which also happens to be my first-ever Mac. I've had it since October and my external HD since January and I am FINALLY making myself do regular back-ups.

Hardware:
1) Mac PowerBook G4 (55.89GB internal HD, of which ~30GB is used)
2) 250GB external firewire HD; I partitioned this into two (~60GB = "Back-up" and ~172GB = "Data")

Using the SD Users Guide, I set out and accomplished the following:
1) Backed up "Macintosh HD" onto "Back-up" (using backup all files, erase Back-up/copy files, and Restart from Back-up)
2) I verified the clone that I made -- all was good
3) Partitioned the original drive on my PowerBook (44.74GB = Macintosh HD and 10.9GB = Sandbox). Based on what I had read I thought I had allotted enough space

4) Once partitioned, I used SD to restore my original data (from = "Back-up" and to = "Macintosh HD")
5) Set forth to create a Sandbox, using from = "Macintosh HD" and to = "Sandbox" (used shared users/applications script, erase Sandbox/copy files from Macintosh HD option, and startup from Sandbox option)
6) The creation of the clone was never completed -- I checked the log and it indicated that there was no space left in "Sandbox" (I tried doing this a second time, just in case)

I have since tried -- via Disk Utility -- to repartion my internal HD (to make "Sandbox" larger) without luck. Thinking that I might be having problems b/c the Sandbox was being used as the startup disk, I used SD to once again back up "Macintosh HD" to "Back-up" and boot from "Back-up." Still couldn't change the internal HD's partitions -- also haven't been able to erase or dismount "Sandbox." I also tried to do a restore to my system from "Back-up".

So, all my grasping at straws seems for naught and I think that I've only gotten myself more confused!!!! Please help!!!

Thanks so much,
Jen
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2006, 08:28 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Hi, Jen. It's likely that your Sandbox has to be large because of Garage Band's instrument samples and standard loops. The User's Guide has a section that explains how to create your own Sandbox script, sharing additional items. You can use those general steps, and share /Library/Application Support/Garage Band (which will save almost 3GB), as well as /Library/Application Support/iDVD (which will save 2GB).

Hopefully that'll help get you back on track.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2006, 03:24 PM
joules joules is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks so much!

Thanks, Dave -- this did the trick!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2006, 05:27 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,290
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Glad I could help, Jen.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing the name of my Sandbox boot partition denke General 1 07-21-2006 03:02 PM
Updating Sandbox DaleMeyn General 5 02-28-2006 08:20 AM
Mac and Backup newbie, sizing sandbox and sparce image kswaty General 5 02-14-2006 12:52 PM
Can I do this booted in Sandbox? emily General 1 01-22-2006 10:05 AM
How small can i make sandbox partition Dutchray General 1 11-27-2004 07:33 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.