Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-02-2009, 04:03 PM
nicobos nicobos is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6
Cannot find target disk

Hi David,

A few of my clients are using SuperDuper! for automated backup.
There are a few problems when running automated scripts.

Most clients are suffering from 'Target not found' errors, while the target disks are present.
In all cases the target disks are FW. Some are partitioned into two volumes, some are not. This doesn't seem to make a difference.
In all cases target disks are mounted and visible on the Desktop.
Harddisks are never put to sleep by energy saver control panel.
Strange thing is, that when I manually fire a scheduled script the target disks are found and backup takes place.

Also, in one case the automated backup takes place (Status window has three green bars) but the logfile and Growl notification report that target cannot be found.

Assistance is welcome!

Regards,

Nico
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-02-2009, 04:08 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,818
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Are these Macs asleep at the time of the backup & being awakened by an energy saver event?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-03-2009, 06:47 AM
nicobos nicobos is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 6
Hi,

All of these Mac's are servers, they never sleep, nor do they have harddisk spindown enabled.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-03-2009, 07:50 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,818
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
We're looking for the drives by getting a list from the system, and then matching the low-level UUID for the drive (assigned when the drive is erased) to the one that was saved during the schedule. If the drive was erased outside SD!, it definitely won't work -- but you indicated it runs OK manually (I assume you're running the schedule from the scheduled copies window)... but there's literally no difference between running it manually with that and when the scheduler is run on schedule.

So... I'm not sure why this would happen, if all the above is accurate. Do you have more than one schedule? Does it only happen with some destinations (or some sources)?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple errors of kind: "Caught I/O exception(5): Input/output error" amagjo General 7 04-14-2009 10:01 PM
Can SD copy over LAN? From a FW target disk? julianv General 1 05-02-2008 06:11 PM
SuperDuper! cannot find target volume "Backup" Par General 9 03-18-2008 01:44 PM
Cannot Read SuperDuper! Image from Tiger in Leopard ecornips General 2 12-11-2007 09:50 PM
SuperDuper Backup of AES 128 Encrypted Disk Image rwg4 General 3 11-30-2005 10:28 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.