Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2007, 11:47 AM
z6p6tist6 z6p6tist6 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Limit SD to single core?

I tend to be working when SD does my daily copy. Is it possible to limit SD to using a single core on a Core 2 Duo machine? Would that improve the performance of other software running concurrently?

-Phil
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2007, 02:19 PM
s411ing s411ing is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 15
Hi Phil,

I suspect SD! isn't CPU-bound, but rather: disk-bound. What I mean is that even when running on one CPU, it'd keep your disks busy, taking a toll on overall system performance. Setting another CPU free to do other things, when in reality it'd wait for disk resources, wouldn't buy you much.

In my judgement it's better to let OS X do its thing, rather than to try and allocate different CPUs to different tasks.

Also, with the paid version of SD! you get "Smart Update", which will let you finish the cloning much quicker. Might be something to consider.

Best.
--
Jonas

Quote:
Originally Posted by z6p6tist6 View Post
I tend to be working when SD does my daily copy. Is it possible to limit SD to using a single core on a Core 2 Duo machine? Would that improve the performance of other software running concurrently?

-Phil
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-12-2007, 02:24 PM
z6p6tist6 z6p6tist6 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
That makes sense.

I am using the newest version of SD (registered), and even Smart Update tends to take a while for me.

Thanks for the good advice.

-Phil
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-12-2007, 06:43 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
A lot of disk I/O can take a while, Phil... and we're definitely I/O bound.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help unmounting a single partition zink General 4 01-23-2007 10:09 AM
Rotate backups with single external FW drive? Tartaglia General 3 12-06-2006 03:14 PM
Shrink a bootable disk image to make it burnable on single layer disc jdmuys General 8 10-27-2006 09:40 AM
Backup from several sources to a single target? macart General 1 09-25-2006 03:39 PM
When I try to copy a single directory, I end up copying the whole disk. Why? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 06-22-2004 06:59 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.