Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2008, 11:29 AM
idkidd idkidd is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Upgrading To Leopard

Helllo,

First of, I apologize if these questions are really basic or if I use the wrong terms: I am completely new to SuperDuper! and this is my first operating system update using my Mac (just converted 6 months ago).

So, all my research says me I should copy my Mac hard drive using SD! before I install Leopard. My setup is that I am using a iMac running 10.4.11 and, in my office, we have a server that I believe runs using Linux. This server doesn't have much on it and I would like to create a bootable backup of my system on that server. Is that possible even though that system is not a Mac machine?

If yes, can I boot from that machine to test that the backup is indeed bootable? From there, I guess I would run the install of Leopard using the "archive & install" option. Is there any benefit to the "erase and install" option over that? As I said, my system is only 6 months old and the erase option makes me kind of nervous.

Thanks in advance for any input/advice!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2008, 11:38 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, you can't do that. If you want a bootable backup, you need an external drive, properly partitioned. If an Intel Mac, that drive can be either USB or FireWire... partitioning should be "GUID" for an Intel Mac, "Apple Partition Map" for Power PC.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I use the current version of SD to 'migrate' to Leopard? dariusp General 1 12-06-2007 08:15 AM
Compatability with Leopard fridge General 2 12-04-2007 10:09 AM
The legend of HiroProtagonist, the Leopard, and Super Duper! hiroProtagonist General 4 11-06-2007 08:47 AM
Upgrading to Leopard? Wailord General 8 10-30-2007 09:42 AM
Upgrading to 10.5 Leopard: Best Approach? AJ500 General 15 10-27-2007 11:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.