Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-21-2006, 04:09 PM
edoates edoates is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 44
Firewire drive startup problem: OSX 10.4.7

I just erased (diskutility) a Firewire drive (both the "drive" and the "partition" on a drive (Wiebetech Duo-800(500GB)) drive which as booted successfully with Superdrive clones before.

But this time, no joy. The "dev" folder appears when I open the drive with Finder; as I understand it, this folder should be invisible for bootable drives.

I did a "smart" update to the newly erased drive with the "backup all files" settings.

The drive appears on the system preferences Startup preference panel, but not on the "option restart" list. When the Startup Preference is set to this drive, the gray startup screen shows the folder with the question mark icon, before booting from my internal drive.

Any clues as to what I've done incorrectly here?

Just before this, I cloned a safety (offsite) backup by just erasing the drive with DiskUtility, then backing up. It booted fine.

Ed
__________________
Ed
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-21-2006, 04:16 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The "dev" folder appearing is actually expected -- OSX returns incorrect Finder flags and metadata for /dev when you're booted from the drive. Finder should hide it when you restart from it, though (and it won't hurt anything).

As far as a restart goes, Ed -- it's hard to say. Usually, if it doesn't show up at Option-boot, it's because:
  • The drive itself didn't spin up properly
  • The drive is partitioned with MBR (or GUID for a Power PC Mac)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-21-2006, 05:01 PM
edoates edoates is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 44
"MBR?" "GUID?" I didn't set either of those "partition" options; in fact, I just "erased" the drive (no OS 9 drivers, case insensitive Mac OS Extended (Journalled)), then erased the volume.

Maybe I'll go back to zero again (yikes, another 1 hour full backup), and reset everything.

The computer in question is a G5 2.5 dual processor.

Ed
__________________
Ed
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-21-2006, 05:13 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Don't do that, Ed. Select the drive (not volume) in Disk Utility, switch to the partition tab, and look at the bottom. What partition format does it say is used?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-21-2006, 06:06 PM
edoates edoates is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 44
Too late. I did check when I "repartitioned" that the option was set to Apple Partition Map; I didn't look at what it was set at before I hit the "partition" button.

So I'll let you know if all is OK again after the backup.

If it doesn't work again, is there anything else you can think of that I should check?

Ed
__________________
Ed
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2006, 06:47 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes. What I'd do is power everything off, including the FW drive. Then -- with the FW drive unplugged -- get to the Option boot screen and wait for the watch to change to an arrow.

Once there, plug in the FW drive and listen for it spinning up. Once up, plug in FW and refresh Option-boot: let's see if the drive shows up.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-22-2006, 12:10 PM
edoates edoates is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 44
Well, I tried that; same deal: the drive does not show up on the "option startup" list, nor will it start up when selected in preferences. The "partition" type is Apple Partition Map according to Disk utility.

Anything else to check before I erase the drive, install OS X from CD to verify that it can be booted that way, and then doing the SuperDuper! backup?

Ed
__________________
Ed
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-22-2006, 02:02 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Nothing else offhand I can think of, Ed -- you can try an "archive-and-install" of OSX to it, though, to see if that makes a difference.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-22-2006, 03:44 PM
edoates edoates is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 44
I think I'll do an "erase and install," make sure it boots, then do a "smart update" which should completely replace everything, but keep the ability to boot from the cloned drive.

I'll let you know what happens.
__________________
Ed
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-22-2006, 03:54 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, the "bootability" is simply setting things up with the right partition type and blessing, which is why this is a weird error. If the device is supported by the OS, it should just work...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-09-2006, 05:57 PM
edoates edoates is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 44
I just want to close the loop here. I must have been mistaken about ever booting from the drive in question (Wiebetech Duo-800/500GB); when I did a full "erase and install" on the drive in question from the Tiger CD, at the point at which the installation reboots from the target drive, it failed to boot with exactly the same indication: the folder with a question mark in it.

So, I can only assume that this drive cannot be used as a boot drive. There are two drives inside the box, and it is possible that the other drive will boot up, but I've spent enough time on it. I have a safety backup off site (well, in my office instead of the main house), and it does boot successfully, so I can use that as a quick boot / SuperDuper restore drive.

Ed
__________________
Ed
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-09-2006, 06:01 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You should call the guys at Wiebetech, Ed. I don't see why the drive wouldn't work, and they might know.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A SuperDuper Back Up Strategy Bagelturf General 3 09-09-2007 01:23 PM
Dupe to seperate internal drive problem ArsMoriendi General 9 08-14-2006 12:52 PM
Weird problem badlydrawnboy General 8 07-16-2006 03:17 PM
Long Hang While Copying BackerUpper General 4 06-12-2006 08:26 AM
Missing startup drive lg.hinz General 18 05-20-2006 07:48 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.