Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2005, 09:38 AM
JAC II JAC II is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 13
Switching to a new ibook

I am just about to upgrade from a 600 ghz ibook to a brand new 1.33GHz ibook with the following configuration:

Memory 065-5237 768MB DDR266
Hard Drive 065-5241 80GB ATA Drive
Optical Drive 065-5244 SUPER DRIVE
Airport 065-5246 Airport Extreme Card
BlueTooth 065-4662 Internal BlueTooth Module

My old ibook does not have a super drive, has a smaller (30 gig) hard drive, has the older airport card (not extreme) and does not have a bluetooth module.

I am planning on cloning my old ibook to my LaCie hard drive, and then cloning that to the new ibook. Will I have any trouble with my system recognizing the superdrive, bluetooth, extreme card, new hard drive, etc?

I would love it if I don't have to reload all my software, files, pictures, itunes music etc. and preferences into the new ibook.

Do you see any problems I would run into doing this?

Thanks in advance for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2005, 10:00 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,751
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You don't say what version of the OS you're running on the old iBook. The basic deal is that if you've got a new computer, as long as the version of the OS installed on the volume you're trying to boot from was released *after* that computer was introduced, you're golden -- new versions of the OS will boot all (supported) Macs that are on the market, including Apple-provided things like BT/SuperDrive, etc.

If you're nervous, try booting the new computer from the LaCie FireWire drive! Again, name it the same as the original drive (e.g. Macintosh HD), but then hook it up to the new computer and hold down Option while powering it on. It'll give you the choice of which drive to boot from: pick the LaCie. Everything should work great -- once you're happy, you can run SD! from that drive to copy to the internal drive (same name again).

Hope that helps!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2005, 11:53 AM
JAC II JAC II is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 13
Thanks - sorry, I am running 10.3.7 so I am guessing there won't be a problem. Thanks for the quick responses and I am starting to see why people said this was the best $20 they've spent on software !!

Thanks sincerely,


John
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-17-2005, 12:04 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,751
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No sorry necessary, John -- glad to help. We hope to count you in our chorus of happy users -- tell some friends!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-17-2005, 05:27 PM
brich brich is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bensalem, PA
Posts: 43
Dave, a question about this process. What would be the advantage of copying from the clone of the existing system to the new system instead of using the Apple transfer assistant that offers to move apps, prefs, etc. ?

I ask this question because SD has been a problem-free way for me to clone and smart update to external FW my QS G4..just a great app! Also, why would you need to rename the clone to match the new internal ?

Brian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-17-2005, 05:35 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,751
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The new Apple Transfer Assistant works very well for most people. But it doesn't transfer all applications properly, nor does it handle every kernel extension and the like.

If you want to take the purchase of a new machine as a way to 'clean up' your system, it's great. But if you want everything to just "come over" as quickly as possible, the clone works better. (Of course, if it's something like the Mac mini that ships with a build of the OS that's not available elsewhere, you don't have a choice -- you have to use the assistant.)

When you boot from a clone, applications that store aliases have the volume name in the alias along with the folder 'path'. So, when they resolve the alias, you want them to resolve to the clone -- or the new drive -- rather than to something less convenient. As such, it's best to name the clone the same as the drive it was copied from -- that way the aliases resolve to the new boot drive preferentially.

Hope that helps.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.