Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-22-2007, 05:58 AM
Stoney Stoney is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
MacBook Pro won't copy to Firewire external

I've used the product to back up to two external (OWC Firewire) drives successfully in the past from my PowerPC Pismo Powerbook.

Now, my whole system is changed:
MacBook Pro LED 2.4GHz 15"
2GB RAM
10.4.10 and Quicktime 7.2.

I get this error message after failing to copy:

| 02:40:04 AM | Error | SDCopy(310) malloc: *** error for object 0x347e90: double free
| 02:40:04 AM | Error | SDCopy(310) malloc: *** set a breakpoint in szone_error to debug

This is my first time using SuperDuper with my new MacBook Pro. I've updated to 10.4.10, installed Quicktime 7.2 which caused problems, then overwritten it with the combo 10.4.10 updater to fix it.

The external drive was repaired with Disk Utility, which reports "no repairs were necessary), both before and after using DU to erase it.

The external drive fails to be rebuilt by DiskWarrior due to a "Mac OS Services error."

Help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-22-2007, 06:07 AM
Stoney Stoney is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Even Carbon Copy Cloner reports a cryptic error:

Executing command: /Applications Library/Carbon Copy Cloner/Carbon Copy Cloner.app/Contents/Resources/ccc.sh with args:
(
"/usr/sbin/asr",
"-source",
"/",
"-target",
"/Volumes/OWC Mercury 320G",
"-noprompt",
"-erase",
"-puppetstrings"
)

03:06:07 helper_tool: An unexpected error occurred!, Error code: -1
03:06:08 The clone operation has completed. Elapsed time: 00:00:05


I'll try reformatting the drive.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-22-2007, 06:12 AM
Stoney Stoney is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Forgot to mention: I have Boot Camp installed with an "untitled" windows partition on the source drive ! I'll try excluding that, assuming it gives me the option.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2007, 09:33 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Actually, try re-downloading and installing a fresh copy of SuperDuper. If that doesn't work, please send the complete failure log to the support email address and I'll take a look.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Booting from backup guruuno General 27 10-16-2009 11:53 PM
Error in SD copy over FW between 2 FW drives Travers2K General 1 06-04-2007 11:19 AM
SD! & HDD copy speed fun DaleMeyn General 3 03-20-2006 04:24 PM
Cannot copy from external backup to HD Tricia General 4 10-13-2005 08:18 PM
Error: No space left on device tradervic General 11 06-29-2005 04:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.