Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-13-2005, 07:11 PM
Mumrik Mumrik is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Moving from G4 to G5 and upgrading to Tiger

Until now my main working machine has been a PowerMac G4 with MacOS X 10.3.x. I have now got the chance to upgrade to a PowerMac G5 (2*1.8 GHz, not the just released model). I would like to take this opportunity to "kill two birds with one stone", transfering all my stuff from the G4 to the G5 and installing Tiger on the G5. I presume SuperDuper! can help me making this a smooth transition. But how?

Should I upgrade to Tiger on the G4, then make a full backup of it to an external FW drive using SuperDuper and then "restore" that backup onto the G5? I fear this migh not be a good idea since I believe the Tiger installation for the G5 is different in some respects from the one I would have on the G4 (right?)

So, is there another way which I guess will have to start with Tiger installed on the G5 and then transferring the non-Tiger stuff from the G4 to the G5. How would I best do this? What's the risk of it being incomplete and requiring a lot of "tweaking"?

Thanks for advice on this operation which I guess is not all that uncommon.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-13-2005, 08:28 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Hi, Mumrik.

As much as I'd like to tell you to use SuperDuper! for this, I think you'd be better off simply installing Tiger on the G5 and using its built-in Migration Assistant to transfer the data from the old machine.

Basically, you'll set your G4 into FireWire Target Disk mode, connect the two machines with a FireWire cable, and the Assistant will do the rest.

If that doesn't work well for you, we can talk about how to do it with SuperDuper! -- but this'll save you $20, and I think you'll be pleased with the result.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2005, 07:18 AM
Mumrik Mumrik is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks for advice

Thanks a lot for prompt and clear advice pointing me to the Migration Asssitant which I had otherwise probably overlooked. I'm sure the US$ 20 investment I have already made in SuperDuper is far from wasted since I'm going to use it for Backup and Security Clones. Thanks for a very useful program and for 1:st class support!

Best regards / Mumrik
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-14-2005, 09:50 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
My pleasure, Mumrik!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Could not disable ignore permissions" when backing up after Tiger upgrade dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 04-30-2005 11:36 PM
After upgrading manually, backups fail with a "Script Not Found" error. dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 04-08-2004 09:22 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.