Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 1.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2009, 06:13 PM
jkb242 jkb242 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Using Super Duper to back up to a NAS

I am hoping that someone can tell me this is possible NOT USING AIRPORT.

I read the brief description from the help guide in SuperDuper which partially describes how to do this but I believe that I have missed something in the process.

I am using Leopard 10.5.6 and SuperDuper 2.5. I have no desire to use a wireless connection to perform a 100 Gb back up and not sure who in their right mind would want to. I have a network storage device that I have mounted on the desktop to which I would the image to be written. Time machine has no reasonable means unless you are a programmer, to do this. i can't believe this basic task is such a stretch for a Mac.

SuperDuper claims this is possible but what seems to happen is that image is created first to the desktop then, according to the help screens, is supposed to be moved to the NAS.

That is where I assumed something went terribly wrong. If that is the way the program works, it is necessary to have enough free drive space on the main Mac drive as one has currently used. That's 100% overhead which I don't have, hence the network back up.

Has anyone used this feature in SuperDuper to confirm that what I have reported is correct?

Moreover, does is there any way to back up directly to a network drive on a MAC?

I would very much appreciate any assistance with this issue.

Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-21-2009, 06:40 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, the image is not created on the desktop. The 'disk image' appears on the desktop because 'drives' appear there. But the image is stored where you store it - and that should be on the NAS.

This is covered in quite a bit of detail in the User's Guide and the "Airport Disks" post at the Shirt Pocket blog (in general terms).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Have Super Duper automatically copy when drive mounts unknownrider General 20 04-22-2007 06:27 PM
Learning more about Super Duper and backups in general thmiii General 1 12-24-2006 12:54 PM
Initial Super Duper! Settings greengrass General 1 08-14-2006 10:40 PM
Super Duper! saved my data chris7777 General 1 12-24-2005 10:45 PM
Super Duper problem, won't erase target drive maxwell_photo General 3 11-24-2005 09:34 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.