Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2007, 12:33 PM
raf raf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Automount and unmount

Sorry if this has been covered ...

SuperDuper is working great for me and is faithfully backing up each evening. Now I would like to tweak my setup so SD can automatically mount and unmount the required volumes.

Here are the 2 scenaria that I would like to address:

1- scheduled backup to an external disk connected via firewire. This is a smart clone of the entire partition.
2- scheduled backup to a network disk. This is a smart clone to a disk image located on the network volume.

Part of the issue I suspect will have to do with permissions. SD requires the disk to be mounted in order to set up the scheduled backup. Should I mount the required volume as an admin user? Will it matter who is logged on when SD runs? Does SD run as an admin user?

Thanks,
Martin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-20-2007, 12:46 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
SD! already does automount/unmount external disks.

Network disks are also mounted, and the image is mounted and unmounted, but the network disk is not unmounted...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-20-2007, 12:53 PM
raf raf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
SD! already does automount/unmount external disks.

Network disks are also mounted, and the image is mounted and unmounted, but the network disk is not unmounted...
Thanks.

So this means that I need to use an "after" script to unmount the network disk?

On the permissions question, what user does SD run under?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-20-2007, 12:59 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You can use an after script, but you have to delay the "after" by throwing the task into the background and waiting 30 seconds or so (since the image is still open when the after script runs).

SD!'s UI runs as the user, and the copy process runs as "root".
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-20-2007, 01:09 PM
raf raf is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
You can use an after script, but you have to delay the "after" by throwing the task into the background and waiting 30 seconds or so (since the image is still open when the after script runs).

SD!'s UI runs as the user, and the copy process runs as "root".
Do you mean the following:
- the script should spawn a process and immediately exit
- the spawned process should wait 30 sec before attempting to unmount the network drive

Also, how should I set up the scheduled copy in terms of mounting the volume manually? What I mean is: if I authenticate the mounting of the drive with an admin user (perhaps not the same as the currently logged on user) will SD remember this authentication and use it when running the scheduled backup?

Thanks again for the very speedy response!

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-20-2007, 01:54 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I mean the script should spawn a process and immediately exit: that process should sleep 30 seconds or so and then eject.- I believe I've posted examples of this elsewhere on the forum.

You'll need to add the authentication to the keychain, and that should be remembered (I'm assuming that the alias manager, which handles this, will know what to do -- we don't "remember" it ourselves, it does.)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-09-2007, 05:51 PM
afragen afragen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to afragen
In this thread, I wrote about a script I did to unmount network AFP drives. It does this when the script notices a router change but it can be adapted to run as Dave describes.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-10-2007, 07:44 PM
afragen afragen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to afragen
See this thread. In it I wrote a script that will do exactly this.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Feature Suggestion: automount/unmount polymathic General 24 12-28-2006 09:09 AM
how to automount a drive before backup starts audun General 8 09-04-2006 09:14 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.