Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-15-2007, 07:12 PM
dwrider dwrider is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Problem with Word (Office 2004) on Sandbox

I'm having a weird problem using Word on the Sandbox. Word is running ok, but is doing something strange with the fonts (i.e. not properly displaying varying fonts that are in a document).

When I highlight words that have a different font setting, Word shows that the correct font is applied, but it just won't display it properly.

When I re-boot up from my Macintosh HD and run Word, everything displays just fine.

I tried copying the Officer 2004 application to the Sandbox, but that didn't change anything with respect to how it's displaying things.

Any ideas? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-15-2007, 07:35 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Try using Onyx or Cocktail to rebuild your Font cache, and let's see if that works.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-15-2007, 08:07 PM
dwrider dwrider is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
I used OnyX to clear the Font cache - Word is still doing the same thing.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-15-2007, 08:12 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I'm just not sure why that would happen, dwrider. Perhaps try not sharing Office?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-15-2007, 08:17 PM
dwrider dwrider is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
That was the first thing I did - i.e. copied the entire Office 2004 file over to the Sandbox...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-15-2007, 08:24 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
As I recall, there's an Office font cache, too, in its preferences. Try removing that...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-15-2007, 08:32 PM
dwrider dwrider is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Did that, too (trashed all Office preferences). No change. ;(
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-15-2007, 08:38 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Really weird. I don't know what might be causing this. A Sandbox is very similar, in most ways, to a Network Home Folder, and it should work properly...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-15-2007, 08:53 PM
dwrider dwrider is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
hmmm, great. well, maybe I won't be able to use the sandbox idea after all. thanks much for your help! I greatly appreciate your responsiveness.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-15-2007, 09:04 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
What's weird is I use it with Office 2004 all the time. I just haven't seen this issue at all. Anyone else out there using a Sandbox and having trouble with Word?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-16-2007, 03:27 PM
dwrider dwrider is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Okay, I managed to fix the problem. This morning I learned that other fonts in Word were displaying just fine, except for the ONE font that I use the most (Brush Script MT). Font Book showed no problem with the font.

I did some looking around at similar issues on http://word.mvps.org/Mac (Word:Mac), and found a posting suggesting trying an application called "Linotype FontExplorer X". After installing that app and running it, I noticed that the Brush Script font was appearing twice in its library. I deactivated one of them (the app said it was the one located in my user library), and now Word is displaying the font just fine.

I'm still not exactly sure what caused the problem to begin with (argh), but at least it works now! Thanks much for all your help, Dave.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-16-2007, 03:42 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Interesting. Thanks for the follow-up -- I wonder what caused that, and why it would cause an actual problem?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sandbox not recognized anymore... Al Taylor General 1 05-30-2007 04:31 PM
Sandbox partition too small joules General 3 08-11-2006 05:27 PM
Problem with some registrations in Sandbox coosticks General 1 08-11-2006 11:54 AM
Updating Sandbox DaleMeyn General 5 02-28-2006 08:20 AM
Cannot Run Ms Office 2004 Apps from Sandbox mpkalman General 22 03-08-2005 03:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.