Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-14-2020, 04:30 AM
mattiman mattiman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Can't find files on SuperDuper! Clone

Running:
- macOS Catalina 10.15.5
- SuperDuper! 3.3.1 v121
- MacBookPro 16-inch, 2019
- External SSD disk: Samsung T5, 1 TB, APFS formatted with DiskUtlity

Opening SuperDuper I can select Copy Macintosh HD [1 TB] to Samsung T5 SSD 1TB

SuperDuper runs and finishes all green. But now when I look into the disk in Finder there's only empty folders. So directories Applications Library, System, Users. etc. all empty, no files inside.

If I look in Disk Utility with the same disk attached, I see 2 volumes:
Samsung Portable SSD T5 Media
- Container disk3
- - Samsung T5 SSD 1 TB
- - Samsung T5 SSD 1 TB - Data

Besides I see my internal disk as
APPLE SSD AP1024N Media
- Container disk1
- - Macintosh HD
- - Macintosh HD - Data

So I'm not sure why I can't see the files in the finder, but my idea is that it has something to do with Catalina having split the HD into 2 separate volumes.

But in the finder when attaching the External disk I only see one volume.

However when I eject this one volume a prompt asks me if I want to eject both volumes.

So how do I make a correct clone with SuperDuper, so that I can find and use the files on the clone?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-14-2020, 06:16 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,669
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
This is due to a bug in 10.15.5, which I discuss at http://www.shirt-pocket.blog. Please send an email to support and I'll help you out.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-2020, 12:34 AM
sdsl sdsl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 60
Hi Dave, I've been using SuperDuper for many years.

I have two types of clones right in use:

(1) Clone of an HFS+ disk with ONLY raw and jpg files -- cloned to another HFS+ disk (neither the source or destination disks are bootable). These data are photo files, but they are used in a business and it is essential that they be backed up, we even have multiple such backups kept in different locations. Each disk is several TB, and we have many of them (too many for an online backup service to be used).

(2) Complete clone of a 10.15.15 internal Mac SSD. This disk has a second volume "Data" as previously discussed in an earlier post. As with the other poster, I can tell that the backup of the "Data" volume does have the same number of GB as the source, but it is not visible in the finder.

We care most about the integrity of the (1) backups, those are absolutely essential. The (2) type of backup is redundant in principle with separate Time Machine backups. My questions are:

Are the (1) backups good -- I can see from inspection all the files seem to be copied, after all.

Are the (2) backups usable in an emergency to recover from -- even if not bootable, can Migration Assistant for instance, bring those files over?

Last edited by sdsl; 07-02-2020 at 12:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-2020, 07:24 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,669
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, the 1 backups are fine.

The 2 backups are usable but won't boot. The data is there (use Finder's Go To Folder to open /Volumes, you'll see the data volume there). To use them to get individual files you can use Finder from there.

If you need to do a full recovery, without using the workaround (contact me for that via support if you need it), you can easily reinstall the OS over the volume if it doesn't boot, which will also 'fix' it. That can be done from regular or network recovery.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Backup user files suppress system files from a clone freestef General 2 02-25-2009 02:59 PM
Can't boot from SuperDuper clone HD. HDH607 General 1 09-10-2008 08:50 AM
Failed to copy files from Macintosh HD to Clone HD zimcrusher General 1 09-12-2007 11:21 AM
SuperDuper! Erasing Audio Files? Emerson General 3 06-22-2005 01:41 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.