Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-04-2011, 05:11 PM
has55 has55 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 30
logging in for routine backup

You wrote in user guide:
SuperDuper! does not have to be running for a schedule backup to
take place, but the user who scheduled it does have to be logged in,
with their account in front (if Fast User Switching is active), and the
screen must be unlocked.

Does that mean no password on my account ( leave blank), so the energy saver app in system preference would wake up the computer one min before backup and log into my account for SD to do the back up?

Austin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-04-2011, 11:00 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, an account password is fine. You can't use a "wake" password, though.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2011, 06:10 AM
has55 has55 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 30
I've never heard of the 'wake' password, but when I typed wake in the help window in the energy saver section, it pointed me to the security section. In the general section I found the required password timing after sleep or screen saver begins to be unchecked. For clarification: I did not mentioned that I have fast user switching active for my wife and I.

" SuperDuper! does not have to be running for a schedule backup to
take place, but the user who scheduled it does have to be logged in,
with their account in front (if Fast User Switching is active)
, and the
screen must be unlocked. "
I have a password on this account. Do I need to manually be logged in or can superduper do it for the scheduled backup? There is no password for wake.

Or do I need to deactivate fast user switching , since we both have to logged into our account anyway to get to our desktop?

Thank you for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2011, 08:28 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That password is different than a password protected screen saver. That's just system authentication for changing things (like installing an update).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2011, 09:06 AM
has55 has55 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 30
Thank you. Clearly understand now.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Startup Disc and Hard Drive Partitioning Questions Paint Guy General 15 10-27-2010 02:25 PM
Server drive won't mount after backup rhennosy General 1 11-09-2007 03:49 PM
Backup failure on a certain file bmat General 3 09-25-2007 09:06 AM
(Zero-length) File caused SuperDuper to abort backup alancfrancis General 7 08-31-2005 10:42 AM
Smart Backup Error bill s General 20 02-04-2005 09:46 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.