Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-04-2007, 02:49 AM
bmat bmat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Failure to prepare backup

Got a new LaCie NAS and am having a problem getting a backup going. Once I use SuperDuper to mount to share, this is error I receive when I start the copy. Note that I can manually write files and folders to the target share.


| 11:36:05 PM | Info | SuperDuper!, 2.1.4 (82), path: /Applications/SuperDuper!.app, Mac OS 10.4.10 build 8R2218 (i386)
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | Started on Tue, Jul 3, 2007 at 11:36 PM
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | Source Volume: Macintosh HD, mount: /, device: /dev/disk0s2, media: Hitachi HTS541616J9SA00, interconnect: Internal SATA, file system: "Journaled HFS+", OS: 10.4.10 (8R2218), capacity: 148.61 GB, used: 75.85 GB, directories: 105382, files: 451357, ejectable: NO, ACLs: Disabled
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | Target Image: /Network/EDmini AFP/Backup.sparseimage, name: Backup
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | Copy Mode : Erase, then copy files
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | Copy Script : Backup - all files.dset
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | Transcript : BuildTranscript.plist
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | PHASE: 1. Prepare to Copy Files
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Preparing Macintosh HD
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Verifying the integrity of volinfo.database
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | volinfo.database OK
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Enabling permissions on Macintosh HD
| 11:36:05 PM | Info | Refreshing Disk Arbitration ...
| 11:36:06 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Verifying that permissions are enabled for Macintosh HD
| 11:36:06 PM | Info | Permissions on '/' are enabled.
| 11:36:06 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Mounting Backup
| 11:36:06 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Preparing Backup
| 11:36:06 PM | Info | hdiutil: create failed - Device not configured
| 11:36:06 PM | Error | ****FAILED****: result=256 errno=22 (Unknown error: 0)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-04-2007, 08:23 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, the error indicates that the "EDmini AFP" volume failed when we tried to create the image... "device not configured" basically says "the mount point you're using isn't communicating right".
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-04-2007, 11:25 AM
bmat bmat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Well if I can read and write files to the volume otherwise with no issues, it is not clear to me why this particular app is having a problem. I can use SuperDuper to select and mount the volume when I am specifying the disk image name, then use the volume fine outside of SuperDuper if necessary, so what more should I look at to have it access the mounted volume?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Well, the error indicates that the "EDmini AFP" volume failed when we tried to create the image... "device not configured" basically says "the mount point you're using isn't communicating right".
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-04-2007, 11:36 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Try to make sure the volume is mounted and you're writing the image to the mounted volume, not to its "Network" folder proxy...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-04-2007, 05:08 PM
bmat bmat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
OK, I was able to get this working by properly navigating to the volume within the selection window after connecting and authenticating to the remote share. It was somewhat of a stupid user error, but I'm still getting used to the OS.

Hopefully, I'll be able to get this to automatically mount the volume for scheduled backups since I hadn't been able to get that to work yet.

Thanks for the tip, Dave.



Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Try to make sure the volume is mounted and you're writing the image to the mounted volume, not to its "Network" folder proxy...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-04-2007, 05:22 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You bet -- it should automatically mount as long as the authentication information is in the keychain...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X 10.4.9 and backup to disk image failure macWish General 3 03-21-2007 09:41 PM
How to verify a Scheduled Backup? tuqqer General 3 12-06-2005 06:50 PM
Backup failure phila General 3 11-03-2005 07:09 AM
(Zero-length) File caused SuperDuper to abort backup alancfrancis General 7 08-31-2005 10:42 AM
Smart Backup Error bill s General 20 02-04-2005 09:46 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.