Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-05-2006, 07:11 AM
martigan martigan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 3
Question Restore Failure with error (22)

Dear All,

I tried to restore a sparse image backup using Disk Utility as described in "Recovering from a disaster". I have got the following error:

"""Restore Failure

An error (22) occurred while copying. (Invalid argument)
"""
Does anybody got the same?
Any solution?
Thanks for any feedback

Mauro

http://www.i-cherubini.it/mauro/blog/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-05-2006, 09:38 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Hi, Mauro. Have you mounted the image with File > Open Disk Image... and dragged the resulting volume (not the image file) into the source?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-05-2006, 10:54 AM
martigan martigan is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 3
restore failure code(22)

Hi Dave,

thanks for the hint. As I was not sure I did again the whole process. So, I open the image with the "Open Disk Image" command of the File menu.
Then I drag the drive icon that appear a the bottom of the drives list on the left hand-side and finally the destination disk that needs to be erased and restored.

The process start and when almost finished (95%), DiskUtility throws the error.
Any other idea?
Thanks a lot


Mauro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-05-2006, 11:00 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Hm. Error 22 is "invalid argument". I'm not sure what might be wrong here, Mauro. I'd check to see if you can archive-and-install on top of the restored backup to put an OS down, and then boot from it and see if your files are there and OK.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-22-2006, 08:19 AM
Scott Shuster Scott Shuster is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: One block from the Empire State Building
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to Scott Shuster
Instead of using the Migration Tool, I dragged stuff onto my new MacBook in the time-tested style of OS-7.4 -- resulting in slowness. I did not know about the Migration Tool - "Duh!" - and also "Dohhh!!!" - !!!

Tho slow, the computer has been working just fine, but obviously I'd like to fix its problems.

The good folks down at Tekserve here in NYC recommended that as full-fledged optimization does not yet exist for the Intel Macs (no "DiskWarrior") I use SuperDuper to create a disk image on an external drive, and restore from that: They said I'd get some improved disk organization and 'speed' out of doing that.

So I created the 'sparse' disk image overnight, and this morning sought to start-up from the image, but I'm getting 'invalid argument' from the get-go. The image works fine as a folder-full-of-files, but is not recognized as a potential start-up drive.

In Disk Utility I'm told that the image has no checksum data -- So I am checksumming it now -- which looks like it's going to take hours, so in the meantime I thought I'd saunter over here and try to find out what's going on...

With thanks in advance for any guidance,
Scott

Last edited by Scott Shuster; 08-22-2006 at 08:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-22-2006, 09:03 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK -- you can't start from a disk image, only from a real direct-to-the-drive copy, so what you should do is re-do the copy directly to the drive. Once that's done, you can start up from it and do the rest.

Alternatively, you can restore, but there are bugs in the DVD version of Disk Utility on Intel Macs. You probably won't be able to restore unless you use the command-line (see this blog post for a discussion).

I think it'd be easier to re-do the full copy...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-22-2006, 09:41 AM
Scott Shuster Scott Shuster is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: One block from the Empire State Building
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to Scott Shuster
Oh - NOW I get it! (**BLUSH!**)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-22-2006, 10:08 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Glad it's clearer!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New User - Restore Question teasip General 7 04-03-2006 09:39 PM
Restore to an erased drive? devo General 9 11-10-2005 11:41 AM
SD Doesn't Restore Placement of Desktop Icons Piggy General 3 10-31-2005 01:17 PM
Copy Error on Restore JBHoren General 1 07-01-2005 10:45 AM
ASR DMG Restore djhagerman General 5 03-16-2005 05:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.