Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2005, 11:07 PM
backupdummy backupdummy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
Auto_Date

Is it possible to tag the backup file name w/todays date as in %date ?

On a second note - Just registerd. Starting my backup's again.

I read on FAQ's that you must add ignore * and ignore .* ( it's a unix thing ).
My question addes is this. I have a script that I used within SD that basically calls out my "Documents" "Movies" "Photos" "Music" folders. However when it starts the backup I get the other users and system folders addes as well. Could you help me out. Thanks in advance.

PS I've used SD to backup an image, (Works great), now I'm trying out other archieval methods that would be quicker.

Last edited by backupdummy; 05-08-2005 at 11:15 PM. Reason: Adding second question
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-08-2005, 11:12 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Not directly, but what's "the backup file" in your situation? You could write a little AppleScript shell...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-08-2005, 11:25 PM
backupdummy backupdummy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2
The date of the backup . .

Just a FYI. If I make a backup of selected folders I was thinking it would put the folders selected in a main folder and could then label it by todays date so as at an instant I could tell the last backup date. I added another ? to this post if you could

Wow, they weren't kidding. FAST responses to our ? ? . I'm sold.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-08-2005, 11:48 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
To answer the 2nd question: the FAQ is exactly why. Include "Exclude all files" as a script, then include the folders you want. That'll ensure the others are copied. (By default, all files are copied, and you must modify that by excluding everything.)

At present, there's no way of doing what you want with image names inside SD!. However, there might be in the future...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.