Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2005, 01:23 AM
headparrothead headparrothead is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Use SD to replace startup disk

I have searched the discussions for the answer to this question but did not find it. So if it has been answered I apologize for my impatience.

I have a PowerBook with a 40GB disk I am replacing with a new 100GB. I would like to use SD to clone the existing disk to a USB housing with the new disk installed. I will then install this disk in the PowerBook. I know I can't boot directly from a USB drive. Can I create a bootable disk using SD to a drive mounted in a USB housing? Will the new disk be a true clone (boot like the old disk)?

Thanks. I've downloaded the demo. It look really good. If it does what I want to do I would rate it as perfect. Good work.

Regards,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-08-2005, 07:57 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,923
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Just name the two drives the same, use "Backup - all files", and that should work just fine, Jim.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-08-2005, 10:53 AM
headparrothead headparrothead is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks for your quick reply. I'll give it a go and post back my results. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-08-2005, 10:59 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,923
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
My pleasure, Jim. I think it's going to work just fine!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2006, 05:59 PM
BK0001 BK0001 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
SD Bootable external used to replace iMac internal?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
Just name the two drives the same, use "Backup - all files", and that should work just fine, Jim.
Have an iMac. Upgrading drives. Cloned the internal to the new drive - external firewire in SATA enclosure - and am now booting from external firewire as the primary drive.

Name is NOT exactly the same as the internal drive (has a "1" after it).

Am I going to have any problems replacing my internal drive with the one currently booting from the external firewire enclosure?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-21-2006, 06:39 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,923
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The "1" is what the system uses when two drives are named the same to distinguish between them. The non-boot drive should have a "1" after it, placed there by the system., with the boot drive without the "1". This ensures that aliases properly resolve to the boot volume, rather than the "source".

Hope that helps!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-21-2006, 07:02 PM
BK0001 BK0001 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Use SD to replace startup disk

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
The "1" is what the system uses when two drives are named the same to distinguish between them. The non-boot drive should have a "1" after it, placed there by the system., with the boot drive without the "1". This ensures that aliases properly resolve to the boot volume, rather than the "source".

Hope that helps!
Thanks.

Just to be sure, my current external drive in the firewire enclosure, that's now my boot drive, will be happy when it awakes to find itself newly installed as the internal drive in the iMac, and should boot up OK?

-Brian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-21-2006, 07:40 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,923
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, it should be just fine, as long as the drive itself is compatible with the iMac.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SuperDuper Backup of AES 128 Encrypted Disk Image rwg4 General 3 11-30-2005 10:28 AM
Error in cloning minimac to disk image macWish General 3 10-20-2005 08:29 PM
Disk Utility problem after cloning macWish General 38 10-01-2005 01:08 PM
Identifying Startup Disk mcthomas General 1 09-01-2005 09:52 AM
Transferring to a new startup drive dzevans General 8 02-27-2005 07:17 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.