Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-19-2009, 12:21 AM
fells fells is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
super-duper, usb, and firewire

can smart updates be done with usb and still be able to boot with firewire or is there anything lost in the translation?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-19-2009, 09:07 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Sure, not a problem as long as the drive is properly partitioned (and supports FW startup in the first place).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-02-2010, 02:32 PM
Kalkas Kalkas is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 19
Question

Hello,

I have a simillar question and I just want to see if I have understood it right.

If I have understood it right, we can backup with SD! to a properly partitoned USB external drive instead to a FireWire drive.

I do have a FireWire drive, but it is too small for my system, while the USB drive has enough size. I know how to make a bootable FireWire drive. Could I use FireWire drive as a startup disk while the usb drive can be used as a disk where I store my images of the system? Is this a bad idea?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-02-2010, 05:43 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
As I've already indicated in a reply to your emailed support request, USB drives are fine and can be used as startup drives on Intel Macs.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-06-2010, 04:09 PM
MarcP MarcP is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Can USB powered HDDs also be used as bootable backup?

I have a new iMac and wish to have a SD bootable back up. What would be really nice is if I can use a USB powered external HDD rather than one that requires a separate power supply.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-06-2010, 05:32 PM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
I doubt it matters if a drive is bus or external powered in order to boot from it (it doesn't with FireWire), though Dave possibly knows for sure.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-06-2010, 06:39 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That should not be a problem, MarcP, assuming that the drive can run reliably bus powered. Kind of up to the drive itself!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-13-2010, 10:08 AM
Walter Walter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 49
Question

I know this is the wrong place to ask this question but to me it seemed to flow with the questions/answers in this thread:

my iMac has only one 800 FireWire port because Apple in there wisdom ( ) decided not to wire up more then one. Therefore I had to purchase a special cable to connect my FW devices that use 400 ports and then daisy chain my FW devices. The daisy chaining has created some issues and havoc.

Is there a powered 800 port FireWire Hub and if so could you provide me with the url to who sells them ? I have had no luck finding one locally.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-13-2010, 10:53 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I don't know of any (and haven't ever found a really reliable FW hub). Perhaps switch some of those 400s to USB?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-13-2010, 11:29 AM
Walter Walter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 49
Thumbs up

Thanks for the insight and suggestion. I completely overlooked the idea of using the 400 in USB mode. I did a Google search but wow they are horribly expensive but then not sure how reliable they are.

Now I understand why Apple has only supplied one 800 port because they have effectively created new jobs building these powered hubs.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-13-2010, 03:35 PM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
miniStacks have worked well for me as FireWire hubs and using their internal drives for backups.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-13-2010, 03:54 PM
Walter Walter is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 49
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjk View Post
miniStacks have worked well for me as FireWire hubs and using their internal drives for backups.
Thanks.

Not an option for me now because i don't have the budget to buy a mini drive (s). However i will keep that in mind.

I think i found the solution:

☑ plug the 800 to 400 adapter cable to the iMac 800 FW port

then

☑ cable a 400 powered HUB to the FireWired Adapter

then

☑ plug the 400 devices into the 400 powered HUB.

I know that this hookup will not give me the 800 speeds but i need to make use of my 400 FW devices by turning them on or off when required rather then the daisy chain which has caused me some grief.

I have to review/research this hookup and then give a try.

Last edited by Walter; 04-13-2010 at 04:13 PM. Reason: add additional info
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-14-2010, 01:21 PM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
Glad you've found a possible solution.

I've only got FW400 miniStacks (v2 and v2.5). Even though the latter is hooked to an Intel Mac mini that supports FW800 it was unavailable using FW400 devices with it. The former is hooked to an iMac G5, which only supports FW400 anyway (and the v3 miniStack with FW800 didn't even exist).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.