Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-05-2009, 03:19 PM
securityminded securityminded is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Same System, Same Hard Drive, New Partition Scheme

My mac book pro has a 232GB HD and is setup with two partitions of almost equal size. I no longer need to have two partitions so I am going to repartion it to one partition. I only need to restore one partition of the current two.

The source partition is 116GB but since I will only have one partition on the target internal drive, that partition will be 232GB instead of 116GB.

Is there a problem with using SD to restore the 116GB partition to the new 232GB partition? Anything special or important I need to do? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-05-2009, 03:31 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Nope. Other than making sure the partition is named the same as it oriignally was, and using the proper partition scheme (GUID/GPT), nothing special.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-2009, 03:35 PM
securityminded securityminded is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
That is exactly what I was wanting to hear! I didn't want to use migration assistant on a new install since I would likely lose activation of some of my programs I have purchased. Thank you for your insanely quick response. Now I can do this today :-)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-05-2009, 03:50 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That doesn't mean you're not going to lose activations: that all depends on the type of copy protection used by the programs...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-05-2009, 05:28 PM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by securityminded View Post
I no longer need to have two partitions so I am going to repartion it to one partition. I only need to restore one partition of the current two.
Disk Utility (at least in 10.5) supports limited non-destructive volume resizing so you might be able to delete the unneeded partition then resize the other one to use the space reclaimed from the deleted one. Of course it would be wise to have a backup in case of problems, though it would save some time if you don't need to restore from it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-05-2009, 05:59 PM
securityminded securityminded is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
I just tried your idea and was able to delete the second partition and enlarge the first one to the full size of the hard drive. I am actually booted to it right now and it seems to work.

Before I modify my backup, does anyone know of any issues associated with modifying the partition structure using disk utility on leopard such as what I did? Just because something boots doesn't mean that there are no underlying problems so I want to make sure.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-05-2009, 06:01 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
There shouldn't be any problem, no: as long as Disk Utility was able to do it without error, you should be fine.

Note that any disk image backups will have the "old" partition size set as the maximum...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-05-2009, 06:05 PM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
If I was aware of any issues of concern it's unlikely I'd have 1) done it myself, and 2) suggested it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-05-2009, 06:11 PM
securityminded securityminded is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Dave and sjk, thank you VERY much for the information. This is exactly what I needed and it seems to work with no problem at all! :-)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Partition external hard drive chrisjames03 General 1 04-23-2009 06:04 PM
Migrating from one hard drive to another zestyping General 3 07-25-2008 08:22 AM
Partition Scheme for an External Hard Drive obeechi General 1 05-16-2008 08:00 PM
Best process to replace internal hard drive using SuperDuper!? emikysa General 26 02-09-2007 05:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.