Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2009, 06:46 AM
David_Foster David_Foster is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Time for 2.4 TB first copy?

Hi all,

We are doing a fresh copy using Smart Update to a disk image from one Mac Pro RAID to another Mac Pro RAID over a 1000BT network with a 3Com Gigabit switch. (Both machines use RocketRAIDs.) The source volume has 2.4 TB of data.

The disk image on the backup has been 2.02 TB for about 14 hours now, total elapsed time for the copy has been 33 hours.

The effective copy speed shown this morning is 0.16 MB/s. If my math is right and the copy speed is accurate, it will take another 25 days to finish the copy.

I know SD shows negative copy speeds erroneously, but the Effective Copy Speed displayed seems to match the increase in the disk image size.

Is there a benefit to stopping the copy and re-starting it? Our experience is that stopping the copy midway leaves the disk image unmountable and unusable - is there a safe way to stop and re-start?

I'd be interested to hear if anyone else has copied similar amounts of data and the copy times for it.

Thanks to all!
Attached Images
File Type: png Picture 2.png (92.3 KB, 455 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:09 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You're copying 2.4TB of data over a network, rather than locally? Yeah, that's going to take a while.

Stopping the copy should not leave an image unmountable/unusable, unless the image is already damaged. The fact that it stopped at 2TB makes me think that the drive has a 2TB file size limit (images can be petabyte sized, so I don't think it's the image itself).

If you look in the log (Cmd+L) are you getting errors at the bottom with retries?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:13 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Note that I've just re-checked HFS+, and it also has a really huge maximum file size, so I don't think that's it either... unless the RocketRAID has some weird limits, or the network FS does.

If you look at the Get Info for the image volume, does it have the maximum size you'd expect?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:22 AM
David_Foster David_Foster is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Hi Dave,

I don't think it's a limit for 2TB either, since both machines have the same RocketRAID card and the source volume is at 2.4 TB and growing.

Here's the log:

| 09:12:01 PM | Info | SuperDuper!, 2.5 (84), path: /Applications/SuperDuper!.app, Mac OS 10.5.7 build 9J61 (i386)
| 09:12:01 PM | Info | Started on Sun, Jul 5, 2009 at 9:12 PM
| 09:12:01 PM | Info | Source Volume: RAID, mount: /Volumes/RAID, device: /dev/disk4s3, media: HPT DISK 1_0, interconnect: Internal SCSI Parallel Interface, file system: "HFS+", OS: N/A, capacity: 4889.81 GB, used: 2457.65 GB, directories: 256484, files: 1344427, ejectable: NO, ACLs: Enabled
| 09:12:01 PM | Info | Target Image: /Volumes/Sydney/RAID-Daily.sparseimage, name: RAID-Daily
| 09:12:01 PM | Info | Copy Mode : Smart Update
| 09:12:01 PM | Info | Copy Script : Backup - all files.dset
| 09:12:01 PM | Info | Transcript : BuildTranscript.plist
| 09:12:01 PM | Info | PHASE: 1. Prepare to Copy Files
| 09:12:01 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Preparing RAID
| 09:12:01 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Verifying the integrity of volinfo.database
| 09:12:01 PM | Info | volinfo.database OK
| 09:12:01 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Enabling permissions on RAID
| 09:12:01 PM | Info | Refreshing Disk Arbitration ...
| 09:12:02 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Verifying that permissions are enabled for RAID
| 09:12:02 PM | Info | Permissions on '/Volumes/RAID' are enabled.
| 09:12:02 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Mounting RAID-Daily
| 09:12:02 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Preparing RAID-Daily
| 09:12:12 PM | Info | created: /Volumes/Sydney/RAID-Daily.sparseimage
| 09:12:12 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Setting ownership and access modes for '/Volumes/Sydney/RAID-Daily.sparseimage'
| 09:12:12 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Mounting RAID-Daily
| 09:12:29 PM | Info | /dev/disk5 GUID_partition_scheme /dev/disk5s1 EFI /dev/disk5s2 Apple_HFS /Volumes/RAID-Daily
| 09:12:29 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Mounting RAID-Daily
| 09:12:29 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Preparing RAID-Daily
| 09:12:29 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Enabling permissions on RAID-Daily
| 09:12:29 PM | Info | Refreshing Disk Arbitration ...
| 09:12:30 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Verifying that permissions are enabled for RAID-Daily
| 09:12:30 PM | Info | Permissions on '/Volumes/RAID-Daily' are enabled.
| 09:12:30 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Verifying that RAID-Daily ACL support matches RAID
| 09:12:30 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Preserving Spotlight state on RAID-Daily
| 09:12:30 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Disabling Spotlight search indexing on RAID-Daily
| 09:12:30 PM | Info | PHASE: 2. Copy Files
| 09:12:30 PM | Info | ...ACTION: Copying files from RAID to RAID-Daily using Smart Update
| 09:12:30 PM | Info | ......COMMAND => Cloning RAID to RAID-Daily
| 09:12:31 PM | Info | Copying copy files with delete using script: /Users/david/Library/Application Support/SuperDuper!/Copy Scripts/Standard Scripts/Backup - all files.dset
| 09:12:31 PM | Info | Loading 22 commands from copy script /Applications/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/Exclude system temporary files.dset
| 09:12:31 PM | Info | Loading 6 commands from copy script /Applications/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/Exclude system cache files.dset
| 09:12:31 PM | Info | Loading 1 commands from copy script /Applications/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/Exclude Norton FileSaver files.dset
| 09:12:31 PM | Info | Loading 1 commands from copy script /Applications/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/Exclude Google Desktop Index files.dset
| 09:12:31 PM | Info | Loading 1 commands from copy script /Applications/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/Resources/Copy Scripts/Exclude iTunes Temporary files.dset
| 09:12:31 PM | Info | Loading 0 commands from copy script /Users/david/Library/Application Support/SuperDuper!/Copy Scripts/Standard Scripts/Backup - all files.dset
| 09:12:31 PM | Info | /Volumes/RAID
| 09:16:08 PM | Info | /Volumes/RAID/Customer Records
| 09:16:08 PM | Info | Ignoring /Volumes/RAID/.journal_info_block
| 09:16:08 PM | Info | Ignoring /Volumes/RAID/.journal
| 09:16:08 PM | Info | /Volumes/RAID/Backups of Drives
| 09:29:34 PM | Info | /Volumes/RAID/.TemporaryItems
| 09:29:34 PM | Info | /Volumes/RAID/Fonts
| 09:29:46 PM | Info | /Volumes/RAID/Faxes
| 09:29:52 PM | Info | /Volumes/RAID/Locations
| 09:29:55 PM | Info | /Volumes/RAID/Accounting
| 09:30:04 PM | Info | /Volumes/RAID/Aperture Libraries
| 12:59:04 AM | Info | Preserving /Volumes/RAID/.VolumeIcon.icns
| 12:59:04 AM | Info | Ignoring /Volumes/RAID/Desktop DF
| 12:59:04 AM | Info | /Volumes/RAID/ Studio Workflow
| 01:40:39 AM | Info | /Volumes/RAID/Miscellaneous
| 02:30:41 AM | Info | /Volumes/RAID/ **File This**
| 03:15:26 AM | Info | /Volumes/RAID/Personal files
| 03:16:09 AM | Info | /Volumes/RAID/Movies
| 03:26:30 AM | Info | /Volumes/RAID/Job Folders


I can't find anything to indicate that the disk image is damanged - the RAID utility shows that the RAID is operating normally and it seems to be the size that I'd expect. (Is this what you meant by "image volume"?)

I just checked the disk image again, and it has changed from 2.02 TB to a whopping 2.03 TB. According to the Activity Monitor, it hasn't hung.

How would I copy this locally? Crossover cable? Both machines have to be running for the RAID cards to work, so Target Disk Mode wouldn't work. Just curious.

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:42 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
A crossover isn't going to help much, since you're still indirecting I/O through the network and image layers. The fact that you're not getting any errors is a good thing... as is the growth of the image.

(By image volume I meant the name of the image 'disk' in finder - white icon, named "RAID-Daily".)

Sounds like it's chugging along slowly... not sure what to suggest other than "this might be too much data to copy over a network with SD!, given the speeds you're getting", but it doesn't sound like you have an alternative.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:50 AM
David_Foster David_Foster is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
The image volume looks right, the same capacity and available as the RAID, and the used amount matches the size of the sparse image. Seems right to me.

A couple of questions:

Is there any potential benefit to stopping the copy and re-starting it? (Restarting both machines, clearing the caches, etc.)

Can we use and make changes to the RAID while it's in the copy process? I'm afraid that the changes made during the copy will somehow make the verification fail.

I suppose if I had to do this again, it would be faster to install the two RAID cards in the same machine and connect both the RAID and the backup and copy that way.

Thanks again for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:53 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, I don't think stopping/restarting will help. It certainly won't make any difference to SD itself. The system, it's hard to say, but conceptually it shouldn't.

If you make changes to files that have already been copied, that should be fine.

Yeah, copying locally would be a lot faster...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Booting from backup guruuno General 27 10-16-2009 11:53 PM
Failed to copy error lmatheo General 1 03-20-2009 08:27 AM
How do I copy a Time Machine volume? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 02-07-2008 06:34 PM
SD! & HDD copy speed fun DaleMeyn General 3 03-20-2006 04:24 PM
Error: No space left on device tradervic General 11 06-29-2005 04:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.