Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-25-2020, 12:44 AM
mattocsp mattocsp is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 5
Unhappy Can't log in to users with Catalina Sandbox SSD

Hey, I'm running Catalina 10.15.3 off an external 1TB SSD on a late 2012 iMac. The internal drive is a SuperDuper! clone that I save changes to about once a week.

Today I created a new Sandbox SSD using SuperDuper! 3.3.1 (v121), using a completely clean and deleted Lacie SSD.

My script is:

Copy [External SSD] to [Sandbox SSD], using shared users and applications.

Everything went fine. Booted up from the new Sandbox SSD and can see all three users (same as the regular external SSD). But whenever I try to log in to one of the users I get the same error; "You are unable to log in to the user account at this time."

The ONLY thing that seemed odd when creating the Sandbox SSD is that "On successful completion" wouldn't let me select "Restart from Sandbox SSD" or Set Sandbox SSD as startup disk." Both options were greyed out.

Would love any thoughts or suggestions.

Last edited by mattocsp; 03-25-2020 at 12:53 AM. Reason: Forgot to add in the detail about "On successful completion"
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2020, 11:20 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,686
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
In general, Sandboxing Catalina doesn't make a lot of sense, since the system is on a separate volume and is entirely read-only.

That said, the problem is likely that the shared items are being linked to a snapshot, rather than the original files. Add the source volumes to Time Machine's "do not back up" list, temporarily, then quit SuperDuper and re-open it. Do your Sandbox, then fix your "do not back up" list.

That should let the sandbox work.

Note that the disabled items are entirely expected: Apple hasn't allowed 3rd party tools to set the startup drive since 10.11 or so (I honestly forget exactly when they changed it, might have been 10.12).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2020, 11:55 AM
mattocsp mattocsp is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 5
Thanks

Appreciate the quick feedback! I wasn't sure Sandboxing made sense, but quarantining is making me do many questionable things these days. Think I'll just use the Sandbox SSD for some backup instead. Stay safe and healthy!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2020, 12:13 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,686
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You too! :-)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
catalina, sandbox, ssd


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sandbox causing Aperture 2 "invalid image format" issues. streborg General 4 08-25-2009 01:47 AM
inner vs. outer partition; bootable clone partition size; Why not back up Sandbox? LearningUser General 1 06-22-2009 08:01 AM
Sandbox size recs for Leopard jeremy_m General 2 05-18-2009 08:52 AM
Totally confused about Sandbox CaptSaltyJack General 11 08-22-2008 06:59 PM
Sandbox won't recognize previous users & passwords tdsg General 1 01-08-2006 08:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.