Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-13-2011, 05:58 AM
Francois Francois is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ASNIERES FRANCE
Posts: 9
Huge size difference between main HD and SD clones

I'm surely posting an FAQ but I'm puzzlzed by the following :

I regularly clone my main disk, called "Leopard HD" (running actually Snow Leopard 10.6.7) to two different extenal drives, using smart update, and neglecting "repair permissions on Leopard HD".

"Get Info"gives a size of 69,9 GB for Leopard HD and 41.89 GB for the clones.
I'm surprised at the huge difference. I know that SD does'nt copy a lot of files which are recreated at startup,but what can be these 28 GB which are not copied ? Is that normal ?
I must say that the clones work perfectly with no apparent difference from the main disk. Thus my question is purely out of curiosity.
Thanks for any light on the subject.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2011, 08:00 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,739
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Hi, Francois. Please send your log to me with the "Send to shirt pocket" button (use "Error during coy" as the issue type) and I'll analyze what's going on.

(It's likely you have a bad mount point/folder in /Volumes.)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-15-2011, 04:41 PM
Francois Francois is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ASNIERES FRANCE
Posts: 9
Explanation

My machine is a Mac Pro (early2008) with 24 GB RAM. As I have VMWare with several OS'es, and go frequently to sleep when VMware is active, there are 2 files,that Dave helped me to find on SD log :
1) /private/var/vm/sleepimage which reached nearly 25 GB
2) /private/var/vm/swapfile0
Of course these files are ignored by SD when copying the main system disk to a bootable clone.
But that explains why my main disk had more than 69 GB, while the clones made with SD were only 42GB.
I erased on the Terminal the first file (sleepimage) and now my main disk has only 44 GB and runs noticeably faster than before.
All my thanks go to Dave who helped me find this explanation to an occurance which really puzzled me.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does iMac HD size need to equal external HD size? ChicagoOutfit General 1 01-25-2010 08:28 AM
Cloning-SD failed to copy-error log Mac86 General 4 07-11-2008 10:05 PM
Destination Image - Huge size? bradleebaker General 2 04-05-2006 04:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.