Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-05-2009, 03:17 PM
veganjustice veganjustice is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Not enough space...

Okay, I have a TB internal that I am trying to back up to a 500gb external, I have a little over 650gb used on the internal, so there are a few folders that I am fine with not having transfer over, I added up the files I wouldn't be transfering, and it comes to less than the 465 or whatever is left on the external, erased backed up, and the folders I thought I was "ignoring" keep copying over.

I guess I am doing it wrong, because it hits the 465gb spot, and it stops because of lack of space, on a file I thought I was ignoring.

I first tried just adding the folder, that didn't work, so each individual file within the folder. How can I choose so the contents in folders won't copy over.

I was choosing "edit Selected copy script" and choosing ignore whichever folder/file I didn't need. But that isn't working.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-05-2009, 04:19 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,818
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Have you reviewed the section of the User's Guide that specifically deals with this - "Excluding files and folders form a backup"?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2009, 05:14 AM
veganjustice veganjustice is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
I thought I did, and when I was doing it, I thought I was doing it right.

I'll go ahead and re-read it and try once more. Sitting and waiting it to hit that 465gb mark takes forever just to have it fail again. Lol...

I'll give it another go.

Thanks for the reply
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2009, 11:34 AM
NathanWest NathanWest is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
You do know that a 500GB drive is actually only 465 formatted gigabytes or thereabouts?
Your 1TB is only about 938 I think.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2009, 11:40 AM
Nick Nick is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by NathanWest View Post
You do know that a 500GB drive is actually only 465 formatted gigabytes or thereabouts?
Your 1TB is only about 938 I think.
You do know that the approximately 7% difference has practically nothing to do with "formatting," right?
__________________
iMac (27", 3.2 GHz Intel Core i5, 16 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD) OS X (10.11.6)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How much extra space needed for backup? kathykate General 2 10-13-2008 03:16 PM
New to Mac and to SuperDuper - Need a little help MikeG General 15 02-14-2008 10:35 PM
eaten disk space? rossb General 4 06-01-2006 10:07 PM
anyway i can ignore the free space? macnatic General 3 07-27-2005 06:38 PM
smart update didn't work due to remaining space problems JohnCoffee General 1 05-08-2005 09:42 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.