Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2005, 10:36 AM
Tricia Tricia is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Cannot copy from external backup to HD

Whoops, just tried to post this but it was rejected. This is my second attempt so I hope it works.
In brief, I have a G5 iMac running 10.4.2 with two user accounts. One account is for me, the other is for my husband. He has a 12inch Powerbook, also running 10.4.2. We share a partitioned external 120Gb hard drive in a firewire enclosure for backup purposes.
For the past 10 days my husband's powerbook has started to sound very 'loud' (as if the fans are running full bore all the time) and the PB itself is very hot in the bottom left hand corner. I asked the tech at my local Apple dealer today what the problem could be and he told me that it sounded as if the hard drive was dying!!! PANIC. I came home and backed up the PB to the external firewire drive...I then thought I would copy the files from the external drive to my husband's account on my iMac. However, when I logged into his account on my iMac and connected the external drive and started SuperDuper it won't allow me to copy from the external drive to 'Macintosh HD' - this option is dimmed. The only options that are 'active' are my clone and my husband's clone.
I know I've done something very basic incorrectly but I don't know what. Can someone please explain, in simple terms, what I should have done?

Cheers
Tricia
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2005, 11:29 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It was rejected, Tricia? That's weird. Any error message?

In any case, SuperDuper! can't be used to copy to the drive you're booted from. It's too easy to make a mistake. But given that you're just trying to copy your husband's user files, you can simply use Finder to do it. I think that'd be the easiest thing to do!

(Alternatively, you could boot from the external drive, but since you're trying to combine a subset of files from one machine with the other, I do think using Finder is probably the best way to go.)

Hope that helps!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-13-2005, 07:47 PM
Tricia Henwood Tricia Henwood is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8
Thank you for responding Dave. I believe that the message said I wasn't entitled/authorised to post a message (I had only just registered) so perhaps I tried to post too soon after registering - anyhow, my apologies for the second post coming up twice - I hit the button twice. So, as someone who has only a few months experience with the Mac, do I assume that by using Finder I just drag the 'Documents' folder from the clone drive on the external to the 'Documents' folder on Macintosh HD? Unfortunately, my husband uses M$Entourage for his emails and that's what I'm most concerned about getting updated. Will look at Mactopia site to see if I can find a way of quickly updating his emails.

PS While his PBook is having the new HD installed he thinks he will buy a Mac mini - how would I go about getting EVERYTHING from the clone on the external drive onto a brand new Mac mini?

Cheers
Tricia
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-13-2005, 08:18 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Entourage's database is in with the other files in Documents, so they should copy over.

For the Mac mini, you'd do the first boot and then use Migration Assistant to copy the files from the drive. That'll bring everything.

Hope that helps!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-13-2005, 09:18 PM
Tricia Henwood Tricia Henwood is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8
Excellent, Dave. Many thanks for your help.

Tricia
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(Zero-length) File caused SuperDuper to abort backup alancfrancis General 7 08-31-2005 11:42 AM
SuperDuper does not copy from my internal to my external harddisk... as.contact General 9 07-16-2005 08:07 PM
automatic initiation of backup when I plugin/mount my external Firefox drive? mykmelez General 3 07-11-2005 04:00 PM
Error: No space left on device tradervic General 11 06-29-2005 05:50 PM
Smart Backup Error bill s General 20 02-04-2005 10:46 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.