Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2007, 06:24 PM
kerasmus kerasmus is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
How to "hide" SD to do initial 10.4.8 backup?

My sister has the 10.4.8 crash problem on a Mac Pro, and apparently has had it for quite some time (I presume since she updated to 10.4.8).

I've read through other threads and understand that if I do a new backup from scratch of 10.4.8 while "hiding" SD, then after that her regular nightly updates using Smart Update will work again.

But after due diligence I can't figure out what is meant by "hiding" SD during the intitial backup.

Please elaborate!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-12-2007, 06:27 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,761
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
To hide SD!, simply press Cmd+H or choose "Hide SuperDuper!" from the SuperDuper! application menu...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-12-2007, 06:33 PM
kerasmus kerasmus is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Thanks. I'll give it a go.

Shirt Pocket rules!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-12-2007, 06:52 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,761
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Thanks! Now where's my scepter...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-12-2007, 11:12 PM
JAC II JAC II is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 13
So does the Version 2.1.4(82) fix this problem now - do you have to hide SD during backup?

Thanks

John
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-12-2007, 11:15 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,761
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It helps to minimize the problem, but the underlying issue is in the OS, as I've said. As far as we know, it's fixed in 10.4.9. When that's coming out, though, I can't say.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G5 (PPC, 10.4.8) keeps hanging on initial backup UniAce General 7 01-14-2007 06:13 PM
How to verify a Scheduled Backup? tuqqer General 3 12-06-2005 07:50 PM
(Zero-length) File caused SuperDuper to abort backup alancfrancis General 7 08-31-2005 11:42 AM
Smart Backup Error bill s General 20 02-04-2005 10:46 AM
3 Failures on initial backup - What's going wrong? winget General 1 12-05-2004 09:49 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.