Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-13-2007, 04:22 PM
badlydrawnboy badlydrawnboy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 90
Disk cloning with Leopard until SuperDuper comes out?

Dave etc.

First, I appreciate that you're taking the time to get SD right.

In the meantime, do you have any suggestions for how to clone a disk using Leopard? I recently installed Leopard on an external FW drive and got everything set up to see how I like it. After a week of ironing out the kinks, I'm ready to migrate that install onto my main internal HD. I normally run a Sandbox on my other internal drive, but I'll just wait until the next version of SD comes out for that.

Do you have any suggestions for how I can clone my external FW to my internal drive? Obviously I can't do it while booted from my internal (Tiger) drive, since that's the one I'm replacing. And I can't use SD booted from my FA drive, because it's running Leopard.

I'm a loyal SD customer and that's not going to change. If you can recommend a way to do this or another program that would help me out temporarily until SD comes out, I'd appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-13-2007, 04:30 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,921
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
How about using "Disk Utility" and its "Restore" tab?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2007, 04:37 PM
badlydrawnboy badlydrawnboy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
How about using "Disk Utility" and its "Restore" tab?
I'm not familiar with that function. Could you elaborate a bit or point me to some info please?

Much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-13-2007, 04:45 PM
timlance timlance is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 75
have you read the Help info in Disk Utility? It is very good.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-13-2007, 05:05 PM
badlydrawnboy badlydrawnboy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by timlance View Post
have you read the Help info in Disk Utility? It is very good.
Thank you. I did look at the help files. It mentions copying a disk image to another disk, or copying the contents of a disk to another disk. Nowhere does it say anything about whether such copies will be bootable.

The disk image copy doesn't help me, since I want to clone a full copy of my Leopard install - not a disk image. And as far as I can tell from the Disk Utility instructions, simply copying the contents of the Firewire drive (Leopard install) to the internal drive won't make a bootable copy.

Isn't that why programs like SD & CCC exist?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-13-2007, 05:57 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,921
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The copy, if done directly to a properly set up drive, should be bootable (and is easy to check)...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-13-2007, 06:42 PM
timlance timlance is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 75
Badlydrawnboy.

The last first. SD & CCC do incremental type back up functions. DU can not.

From DU Help:

Duplicating a disk
You can duplicate one hard disk or volume onto another. For example, you can duplicate a disk that contains photos and movies to send to a friend, or you can duplicate your startup volume to use as a backup.

To duplicate a disk:


Click the disk or volume you want to duplicate and click the Restore tab.


Drag the disk or volume you want to copy to the Source field.

You can drag it from the list at the left or from the Finder.


Drag the disk or volume that will contain the copy to the Destination field.

If you can’t drag a particular disk or volume to that field, you can’t copy to it. If it’s your startup disk or volume, start up your computer with another disk, such as your Mac OS X install disk. Otherwise, try to quit any applications that are on it or that use documents on that disk.


If you want to erase the destination before copying to it, select “Erase destination.” If you want to use the copy as a startup disk, select “Erase destination.”

If you want to add the original’s contents to the destination without erasing it, deselect “Erase destination.”


Click the Restore button.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-13-2007, 07:42 PM
badlydrawnboy badlydrawnboy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 90
Thanks. I found this thread over at the Apple Discussions, which describes the process in detail. The author suggests booting from a third source, i.e. the install CD, when using the Restore command to clone a disk.

http://discussions.apple.com/thread....hreadID=121735
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple errors of kind: "Caught I/O exception(5): Input/output error" amagjo General 7 04-14-2009 11:01 PM
Cannot Read SuperDuper! Image from Tiger in Leopard ecornips General 2 12-11-2007 10:50 PM
SuperDuper Backup of AES 128 Encrypted Disk Image rwg4 General 3 11-30-2005 11:28 AM
Error in cloning minimac to disk image macWish General 3 10-20-2005 09:29 PM
Disk Utility problem after cloning macWish General 38 10-01-2005 02:08 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.