Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-21-2010, 06:00 AM
Marco_Polo Marco_Polo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 16
SuperDuper scheduled backup is taking down my whole system...

QS G4 with dual 1.6GHz cpu (upgraded), 1.5GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.5.8, latest version of SuperDuper...

This system is pretty darned stable other than this problem...

Symptom: SuperDuper launches to run a scheduled backup to a disk image on a remote volume and starts to mount the volume via SMB. The volume does not mount. Instead, a "phantom" icon for the remote volume appears on the desktop with a generic icon and SuperDuper freezes. The entire OS becomes very difficult to use at this point. Keyboard and mouse input will not work consistently. The Finder is completely unresponsive. The kernel_task process takes up 120% of the CPU.

Force-quitting or killing processes, including SuperDuper, the Copy Job app and the Finder do not help. SD remains visible as a zombie process after killing it.

An ordinary restart will timeout. A shutdown command from the Terminal will quit all apps, but never actually shut down the computer. I have to hold down the power button to shut off the computer.

This occurs with no USB or FW devices other than an Apple keyboard and mouse connected during the scheduled backup.

There don't seem to be any logs in the Console corresponding to the time of the initial event.

After a restart, manually launching SD and running the backup from the Scheduled Copies window works perfectly well if I mount the volume from the Finder before launching SuperDuper, but will result in the same problem if I run the scheduled backup without first mounting the volume.

SD was working perfectly well until recently.

I've done 3 things that I can think of that have changed since the last successful scheduled backup. I've updated the OS from 10.5.6 to 10.5.8; I've gotten an iPhone which I sync to this Mac; and I've installed the latest iTunes.

Any troubleshooting suggestions?

Last edited by Marco_Polo; 12-21-2010 at 06:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2010, 09:05 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,780
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, all SuperDuper! is doing at that point is resolving an alias to the file, which causes the system & alias manage to mount the network volume, using the credentials in the keychain.

Are you able to mount the network volume yourself? Does it work if the network volume is already mounted?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2010, 09:38 AM
Marco_Polo Marco_Polo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 16
Quote:
Are you able to mount the network volume yourself? Does it work if the network volume is already mounted?
Yes and yes.

If I mount the volume from the Finder via "Connect to Server" and then run SuperDuper and have it execute the backup script then it will perform the backup normally with one exception.

The one difference is that I long ago edited the script so that it unmounts the image and network-volume when the backup has completed and it will not unmount them anymore.

The volumes can't be unmounted by simply dragging them to the trash, either. Checking with lsof, I found that Spotlight was keeping the disk image busy. After dragging the image's icon to the Privacy pane in the Spotlight pref's I was able to unmount it.

I have to drag the disk image's icon to the Privacy tab each time after I run the backup script. Spotlight "forgets" that it's not supposed to index the drive after each backup.

But that seems to be unrelated to the main problem and is of far less importance to me than resolving the other problem.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-21-2010, 12:04 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,780
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, since the thing that you've changed here is the system, and we're certainly not doing anything differently, and we have no kernel components that could possibly lock up your system (but the system itself does), I'd have to suggest an archive-and-install and re-update to the OS version you want...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-22-2010, 09:23 AM
Marco_Polo Marco_Polo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 16
Quote:
I'd have to suggest an archive-and-install...
Good advice, but I'd like to make a solid effort to figure out what's wrong before blotting out the evidence with a reinstall. Without knowing what caused it, I could be back in this situation at any time.

One more symptom...

This does not turn in the log every time, but was logged to the Console two of the times when SD froze.

12/21/10 3:35:00 AM com.apple.launchd[1] (0x10cf90.cron[24611]) Could not setup Mach task special port 9: (os/kern) no access

The timing is way beyond coincidence. It is certainly associated with the launch of SuperDuper for the automated backup.

From what I can glean, this error pops up when there's a bad shell command in a crontab file.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-22-2010, 09:40 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,780
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's a very typical error and not a problem (and is not a bad shell command). I've told you what we're doing, and have explained that we don't have anything low-level that might "cause" the lockup. Resolving an alias shouldn't lock up your system unless something's terribly wrong with it.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Failed to enable ownership on SuperDuper BackUp Anne West General 1 02-03-2010 02:38 PM
backup (all files) error smtorr General 3 02-09-2006 09:10 AM
How to verify a Scheduled Backup? tuqqer General 3 12-06-2005 07:50 PM
(Zero-length) File caused SuperDuper to abort backup alancfrancis General 7 08-31-2005 11:42 AM
System crash on first backup attempt cabo General 10 08-14-2005 06:27 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.