Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-30-2010, 11:03 PM
Dick C Dick C is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 16
DiskWarrior errors on new clone

iMac 3.06 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
MacOS X 10.6.4
SuperDuper v2.6.2

I regularly back up my entire internal drive to a Firewire connected external drive. Each time I do that, I find that Diskwarrior reports the following errors on the new clone:

Quote:
Comparison of the original and replacement directories indicates that there will be changes to the number, the contents and/or the attributes of the files and folders. It is recommended that you preview the replacement directory and examine the items listed below. All files and folders were compared and a total of 13,153,528 comparison tests were performed.

Errors, if any, in the directory structure such as tree depth, header node, map nodes, node size, node counts, node links, indexes and more have been repaired.

The Root creation date was repaired.
Critical values in the Volume Information were incorrect and were repaired.!

End Quote

The clone does seem to boot and run properly.

Why do I get such errors with each clone, and are they of any concern; or is DiskWarrior just too picky and should I just quit running it each time to correct them?

Thanks.

Last edited by Dick C; 09-30-2010 at 11:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-01-2010, 02:14 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,761
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Nothing to worry about. We've discussed this errors with Alsoft and it's basically because the files come from a drive other than the one that was erased...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-01-2010, 03:14 AM
Dick C Dick C is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 16
So apparently it's a waste of time to run Diskwarrior after the clone.

Thanks Dave.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-01-2010, 11:04 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,761
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
In general, I'd only run DW on a volume if you're having problems with it...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-01-2010, 08:00 PM
Dick C Dick C is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 16
Thanks again for the quick, sensible replies.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem Booting From a Clone on a Firewire HD sgmorr General 8 03-12-2010 12:11 AM
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 06:36 PM
Using Disk Utility from Clone gets -9972 error (falsely?) eagseags General 6 09-08-2007 10:50 PM
How important is the volume name of the clone? sdsl General 1 09-03-2007 11:05 AM
Problem getting apps to run on clone volume ChetA General 3 09-06-2005 03:19 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.