Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-05-2005, 09:17 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Major Tiger Bug (in Tiger itself) - be aware!

I've just posted a new FAQ about a major bug in Tiger's image handling. Please read, and proceed with caution, no matter what program you're using!

Note that this applies to Tiger 10.4. Apple has fixed the bug -- and we've confirmed the fix here -- in 10.4.1. So, as long as you update to that, you should be fine.
__________________
--Dave Nanian

Last edited by dnanian; 05-17-2005 at 09:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-05-2005, 10:05 PM
ptaylor ptaylor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 14
Ah - I think that I ran into this problem (remember the image size being that odd value, when it should have been much more), but deleted and recreate the sparse disk image and I think it's been working fine since... In working on my mount/unmount scripts today, my sparse disk image has been mounted and unmounted numerous times, though, and it's still showing up as a bit over 15 GB.

I've actually just done a backup to a sparse image minutes ago (testing my scripts)... It's still showing up as expected, 15+ GB.

Paul

Last edited by ptaylor; 05-05-2005 at 10:05 PM. Reason: Added more detail
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-05-2005, 10:06 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's lucky, Paul, but I wouldn't count on it. I didn't test all sizes. But this has bit 3 people that I'm aware of, and I was finally able to repro it consistently today.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-05-2005, 10:18 PM
ptaylor ptaylor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 14
Well, as you can tell by my other post, I'm not counting only on that sparse disk image for my backups...

Like I said, that unusual size has hit me once before... I didn't know what had happened, but it wouldn't let me mount the image, so I deleted the image and added it back, and all was well again...

I'm guessing that you've already submitted a bug report to Apple.. If so, they'll get it squared away quickly, I imagine...

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-05-2005, 11:28 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yep, it's been reported...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-07-2005, 01:07 PM
darelon darelon is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
I was finally able to repro it consistently today.
Could you perhaps decribe how exactly, when you have an idle moment (if any)? Because I have not been able to reproduce it at all on my clean install of Tiger, following the description in your FAQ entry.

I was a bit worried, as this bug would also seem to have the potential to interfere with FileVault. No problems encountered there yet either, fortunately.

So far SD! backups run beautifully on Tiger here. Nevertheless, the warning is much appreciated!

Ciao,
Roeland.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-07-2005, 03:43 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,745
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Sure. Create a 40GB image with Disk Utility. Back up about 13GB or so of stuff to it. Unmount it. The size in Finder will be about 13GB or so. Double-click it to re-mount. The image will shrink to 1008MB and will indicate there are no mountable file systems.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-07-2005, 08:53 PM
darelon darelon is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11
OK, thanks, Dave. That works. I had only tried it with smaller sizes.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Major Tiger Bug (in Tiger itself) - be aware! dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 05-05-2005 09:16 PM
Tiger compatibility? danmitchell General 1 05-05-2005 07:08 PM
New HDD, Got Tiger on Another HDD - Clone? sngecko General 6 05-05-2005 04:59 PM
"Could not disable ignore permissions" when backing up after Tiger upgrade dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 04-30-2005 10:36 PM
Tiger Compatibility! dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 04-29-2005 08:17 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.