Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-22-2006, 02:37 AM
MMM MMM is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 107
Question System crashing problems

Does anyone know why SuperDuper would cause our system to crash whenever it's doing a automatic backup? When we say 'crash' we mean the screen gets grayed out and there's a black box in the center with the message "You need to restart your system...". It's happened several times now.

I don't know if this has anything to do with the problem, but we have SuperDuper in our dock, and a lot of times when we click on it a big question mark appears on top of the icon, and it stops working. We have to then delete the icon and add a new SuperDuper icon to the dock.

Also, should we delete our backup and do a fresh manual backup, since it's crashing in the middle of a backup we're concerned that it might be corrupting our copy of the backup that it's updating.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2006, 08:09 AM
DaleMeyn DaleMeyn is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Stafford county, VA
Posts: 53
You might find some answers in the thread "How to avoid FW drives that don't boot...". Dale Meyn.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-22-2006, 08:33 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, that's called a Kernel Panic, and is typically due to very low-level failures on the system. Please run System Profiler and choose File > Save. Save to the default (XML) format, archive (ZIP) the result, and send it to me at the support email address.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2006, 03:26 PM
magcat magcat is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
Thumbs up Kernel panic-solution found -Tech tool

I had been having kernel panics,intermittently,then constantly, when I tried to clone,crashing on copying applications folder. Luckly one time I got a error dialog box indicating Techtool Pro monitoring app (sorry don't rember exactly..) crashed. I trashed the Techtool app and everything Spotlight found.-Works perfect every time now. Apparently Tech tool has an invisible disk monitoring function that's invisible and incompatible. Very strange that it was intermittent and progressively worse but so it appears...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2006, 03:36 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Interesting: glad you found that, though -- these things can be quite frustrating, I know!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
backup (all files) error smtorr General 3 02-09-2006 08:10 AM
Problems backing up to LaCie 500 gb RichardRipley General 3 11-30-2005 06:12 PM
System crash on first backup attempt cabo General 10 08-14-2005 05:27 AM
Problems making a backup imagine ajcowell General 6 07-18-2004 09:35 PM
New build (389) posted - all reported problems fixed. dnanian General 0 08-06-2002 01:53 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.