Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2005, 10:11 AM
macmath macmath is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Why so long for "Ignoring" /Library?

Hello. First of all, thank you so much for SuperDuper!

I've searched here for similar issues and haven't found one quite like this, so I'm going to bother you.

I ran a "Copy Different files..." on a few directories in the home directory. I believe I had it set correctly because it did exactly what I asked. I watched the log, and it was very fast except for with /Library. Below is an excerpt of that log. The whole task took 43 minutes, but for some reason /Library took 32 of those minutes, even though it was completely skipped. I know that it sorts through the files anyway, but /Developer is somewhat larger than /Library and took only a little over a minute.

I've read here about the 'floating file' issue, and there are some files in /Library which belong to a user besides root, but would that matter when the files are to be skipped?

Thank you very much for your time.
Ed

|06:50:09 AM|Info| Ignoring /Users
|06:51:04 AM|Info| Copying /Users/haar/bin
|06:51:04 AM|Info| Copying /Users/haar/Desktop
|06:51:14 AM|Info| Copying /Users/haar/Documents/Current
|06:51:14 AM|Info| Copying /Users/haar/Documents/Hidden
|06:52:14 AM|Info| Ignoring /.Spotlight-V100
|06:52:22 AM|Info| Ignoring /.Trashes
|06:52:22 AM|Info| Ignoring /.vol
|06:52:22 AM|Info| Ignoring /Applications
|06:53:47 AM|Info| Ignoring /automount
|06:53:47 AM|Info| Ignoring /bin
|06:53:47 AM|Info| Ignoring /cores
|06:53:47 AM|Info| Ignoring /Trash
|06:53:47 AM|Info| Ignoring /Network
|06:53:47 AM|Info| Ignoring /Desktop Folder
|06:53:47 AM|Info| Ignoring /dev
|06:53:47 AM|Info| Ignoring /Developer
|06:54:55 AM|Info| Ignoring /Documents
|06:55:19 AM|Info| Ignoring /System
|07:00:29 AM|Info| Ignoring /Images
|07:00:29 AM|Info| Ignoring /Library
|07:32:09 AM|Info| Ignoring /lost+found
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2005, 10:17 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
32 minutes is a very long time to ignore that folder. My guess (and it can only be that) is that the directory might be stored in weak sectors of the hard disk, and stepping through those files (the whole tree is walked) was delayed by the speed of those reads (which might be retrying)...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-25-2005, 11:00 AM
macmath macmath is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Instant service!

Thank you for the response, as well as the speediness of it.

So, if that's the problem, I'm guessing that there is no way to address it short of cloning to another drive and re-cloning back (basically a defragmenting). I'd feel safer using SuperDuper! for defragmenting than a defragmenter.

If some day I decide to do that, I'll write back and let you know if that fixed it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-25-2005, 11:10 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, I don't mean the drive is fragmented. Rather, I think it's failing, or might be. Be careful!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-25-2005, 11:27 AM
macmath macmath is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
Well, I don't mean the drive is fragmented. Rather, I think it's failing, or might be. Be careful!
Yikes! Then I'll back up doubly-often to my external firewire drive. My data is duplicated on my office Mac, but my wife's is not.

I'll let you know if the drive dies one of these days. Thanks for the warning.

Thanks again for the support. I typically read the manuals and forums before I ask, but it is really nice to have support there when those don't suffice.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-25-2005, 02:28 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Let me also suggest that you download and install a copy of SMART Reporter (free, from VT). That'll give you some warning (hopefully) before failure.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-25-2005, 05:01 PM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
I suggest also monitoring your console log for "disk i/o error" messages, which is generally a good idea even when you're not suspected a drive problem. Those were an indication of bad blocks on my iMac's internal drive last December and I eventually had the drive replaced. SMARTReporter never reported a problem with it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-24-2005, 08:33 AM
macmath macmath is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Hello.

I think now that this could be a FireWire problem or a problem with the disk in the Firewire enclosure (I'm about to check that out now). Twice now (once with SD! 2.0 yesterday and once with the previous version) everything has hung at some point. I successfully told SD! to 'Cancel' (I think) but I couldn't force quit it. The Finder wouldn't respond either. Finally I disconnected the FireWire cable and everything came to life. Here are a few lines from the system.log. Console.log did not show anything different.

At any rate, I'm convinced that it is not SuperDuper!'s fault.

Code:
Nov 23 18:56:34 haar KernelEventAgent[45]: tid 00000000 received unknown event (256)
Nov 23 18:56:35 haar KernelEventAgent[45]: tid 00000000 received unknown event (256)
Nov 23 19:14:47 haar kernel[0]: disk2s10: I/O error.
Nov 23 19:15:17 haar kernel[0]: disk2s10: I/O error.
Thanks for SD! 2!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-24-2005, 09:26 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That definitely looks to be a problem with the FW drive, macmath. (BTW, there was no need to delete messages...)

Try erasing and zeroing the FW drive (both free and data space) to see if that helps. If not, make sure you simplify the bus as much as you can -- iSights are known to cause problems in some situations, if you've got one.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-24-2005, 11:36 PM
macmath macmath is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
It sure was a FW drive issue. I later had the same sort of hang with another utility which I was using to search for bad blocks: unplugging the FW cable brought everything around again. I tried again and at about the same region (block 9 hundred and some thousand or so) it happened again.

Luckily I was able to use Disk Utility with no hangs to zero the drive. After that, I was able to make a full clone with SuperDuper! with no trouble. I need to be on the lookout for a replacement drive!!

You don't need to answer. I just thought I'd report back so that everyone would know that SuperDuper! was fully in the clear on this issue, as it happened with another utility that had to access a broad set of blocks on the drive.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-24-2005, 11:39 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, definitely get a new drive. Once they start failing like that, it means they've been failing (and transparently remapping sectors) for a long time. It's a good idea to replace the drive, since zeroing will restore the remap allocation (and get rid of currently bad sectors), but certainly doesn't guarantee a long-term fix.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How long for cloning? BorisMD General 26 09-25-2005 02:32 PM
long time to do smart update klassa General 1 06-24-2005 11:26 AM
It's taking a long time to clone my drive... PaulH General 6 03-02-2005 07:17 PM
How Long? senojeel General 5 10-08-2004 12:41 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.