Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 8 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-19-2008, 09:22 PM
sjdi sjdi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
cannot boot to firewire drive

I'm new to SD [I'm still using the trial version]

I'm evaluating it as a backup solution to go with my new firewire drive: a G-technology G-Drive Quad

The drive came formatted as HFS, so I don't think that's the issue

In fact, I used System Pref/Startup Disk to select it as the Startup Drive, and it worked fine.

However, I want to be able to boot, if necessary, with keystrokes. I've read in the PDF manual to hold the "option" key while powering on.

That didn't work.

I read elsewhere to use command+option+shift+delete. Still nothing.

Any ideas?

Thx
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-19-2008, 09:28 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Your G-Drive is likely mispartitioned (as opposed to misformatted). You need to use the "GUID" partition scheme for an Intel Mac, or "Apple Partition Map" for Power PC. The method to partition is elsewhere on the forums.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-19-2008, 09:39 PM
sjdi sjdi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Your G-Drive is likely mispartitioned (as opposed to misformatted). You need to use the "GUID" partition scheme for an Intel Mac, or "Apple Partition Map" for Power PC. The method to partition is elsewhere on the forums.
hmm... I was about to re-partition the drive, when I noticed Disk Utility gives a summary of the drive at the bottom of the panel:

Disk Description : G-TECH
Total Capacity : 465.8 GB (500,107,862,016 Bytes)
Connection Bus : FireWire
Write Status : Read/Write
Connection Type : External
S.M.A.R.T. Status : Not Supported
Connection ID : 7895605357387082
Partition Scheme : GUID Partition Table

So, it appears the drive is already using "GUID"

Any other ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-19-2008, 09:51 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK, then when you hold down Option at power on, it should appear as a startup choice in the page that appears. It doesn't?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2008, 10:39 AM
sjdi sjdi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
OK, then when you hold down Option at power on, it should appear as a startup choice in the page that appears. It doesn't?
No. I'm afraid not.

We're talking about the Alt/Option key between the Ctrl & Command keys, right?

I hold it down, press the power button, it powers on [I'm still holding Opt at this point], then I hear the "ta da" sound. I'm *still* holding the Option key until the account login screen appears.

So, basically, no drive select screen displays at any point.

Whe I *did* manage to boot to the firewire drive [using System Pref/Startup Disk to select it as the Startup Drive], I noticed the "ta da" sound did not play on start-up. So, I'm pretty sure the drive select screen is not displaying when pressing Option.

The only thing I can suggest is, I've got the new(er) slim/aluminum keyboard - could that have something to do with it?

Thx again
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-20-2008, 10:50 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
(Oops -- I see now.) You should always get a menu of drives when you hold down Option after power on. Nothing comes up at all?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-20-2008, 10:53 AM
sjdi sjdi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
(Oops -- I see now.) You should always get a menu of drives when you hold down Option after power on. Nothing comes up at all?
No, nothing at all. If I didn't have the firewire drive, would I STILL a menu consisting of my 1 internal drive? Because that doesn't happen either.

Thx
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-20-2008, 10:56 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yeah, you would. Do you have another keyboard around?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-20-2008, 11:14 AM
sjdi sjdi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Yeah, you would. Do you have another keyboard around?
Not immediately, but I can get my hands on one. It might be a few days, though

I'll post back ASAP

I want to thank you, Dave, for all your prompt responses. Your passion is obvious, and I'm sure you don't get thanked enough </group hug>
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-20-2008, 11:17 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Thanks! Let me know what you find with the other keyboard...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-20-2008, 02:52 PM
sjdi sjdi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
OK, I got my hands on the original keyboard

It worked properly!!! Holding its OPTION key at startup displayed the drive selection list!

I promptly called Customer Care, and they walked me through a bunch of "hold keys X, Y, Z at startup" scenarios, and the short of it is this: it seems like the computer is ignoring keys presses, or at least is not aware of them during startup.

Not sure what to do now? I'm on hold as I type, and I posted the issue on the Apple discussion site.

Hopefully there's a system patch/update that addresses this.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-20-2008, 02:58 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Don't know what to suggest -- Option *should* work fine during startup, even with the new keyboard, as long as your rom supports the thing... and given that it's an Apple product, it should!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-20-2008, 04:03 PM
sjdi sjdi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
alas, no

I got off the phone with Apple Care; I even got passed off to a 'product specialist', and she acknowledged "the older iMac might not fully support the newer keyboard"

She guided me through downloading "KeyboardSoftwareUpdate1.2" and still nothing. It's probably only of benefit once the OS is fully loaded.

The "workaround" is to use the Apple Remote!

Holding its "Menu" button while powering on has the same effect as holding "Option" on a (functioning) keyboard.

Oh well, at least I can to boot to my FireWire drive, which I created with SD.

I guess I'm off to buy the license now...

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-20-2008, 04:11 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,752
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Glad you're all set!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
MacBook Pro Drive with Boot Camp to boot into Vista scottsdale General 1 06-11-2008 08:09 AM
Boot Problems on LaCie Firewire Drive michael k General 10 11-06-2007 02:33 PM
Cannot boot from Firewire drive using Option + Restart Mumbo Jumbo General 15 05-28-2007 10:49 PM
Can you boot from a disk image on a Firewire drive caek General 7 11-15-2006 04:08 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.