Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-11-2005, 02:01 PM
rayc325 rayc325 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to rayc325
New Hard Drive need to be formatted ?

OK I purchased SD! and made a backup to an external FW drive. Now I would like to replace the drive in the powerbook. After I install the new drive does it need to be formatted or are there any special procedures before I restore the drive? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-11-2005, 10:38 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No special procedures: just make sure that when you erase it with disk utility before restoring, you name it the same thing as it was named previously. Should be pretty easy to do!

Also, make sure you can BOOT from the backup, and that everything looks OK. Not entirely necessary because you've got the old drive as a secondary backup, but just something to check before doing anything radical.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2005, 11:49 PM
rayc325 rayc325 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to rayc325
Thanks Dave but what happens

....if I don't rename the drive. I went ahead and erased it using disk utilities but it didn't ask to name the drive, It is named "untitled". I thought when I made the clone it would use the same name as the old drive?

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-12-2005, 10:30 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, when you copy the files you're copying files, and the name of the volume is set beforehand. (The volume name is not a property of the files, and most people wouldn't want their destination volume renamed on them during a backup.)

Hope that's semi-clear...!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-12-2005, 06:45 PM
rayc325 rayc325 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to rayc325
Question Dave, What are the consequences?

I renamed it after making the clone, is that OK or should I erase and start over. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-12-2005, 06:51 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, no, don't erase. Just don't boot from it until it's renamed. If you have, just Smart Update it: no need to erase.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't boot from firewire disk negativeduck General 32 01-27-2008 03:54 PM
What Hard Drive to use rayc325 General 7 06-18-2006 07:22 AM
Hard drive size needed for backup? Hoosier_1701 General 8 05-20-2006 07:49 AM
Partition an external hard drive problem andrew_aes General 1 05-25-2005 07:45 AM
Strategy for backing up two internal drives to one external drive? fredhoysted General 5 03-21-2005 09:00 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.