Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-16-2009, 08:21 PM
jsciullo jsciullo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Dublin, OH
Posts: 9
SD WOnt Shut Down MBP

SD is instructed to do a smart back-up and then shut down the computer (MBP - Intel based). It seems to complete the back up and then the menu just sits. I get an error that that the computer wont shut down because SD is still running. I am using a USB connected ext drive. Anything to look for to make it shut down as instructed. The same set up works fine on my iMac 24".

Thanks,
Jim
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-16-2009, 11:18 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,761
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Other users have indicated that clearing your system and user caches with Onyx/Cocktail resolves this issue for them.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-04-2009, 09:32 AM
jeremy_m jeremy_m is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
same same -- won't shut down

Hi Dave et al,

I've got the same problem, recurring frequently with a FW800 LaCie external. SD is set to shut down, but Shut Down times out b/c SD won't quick, the dialogue box says. Clients of mine who are using SuperDuper! are also telling me of this problem.

I'll check into Onyx/Cocktail. Can MacPilot do this cash clearing as well, does anyone know? I have Mac Pilot, but have not re-installed it after upgrading to Leopard.

Thanks, Jeremy
Attached Images
File Type: png SuperDuper! Logout Timeout Error.png (30.3 KB, 356 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-04-2009, 09:41 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,761
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I don't know if MacPilot can do it, sorry.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-04-2009, 09:54 AM
jeremy_m jeremy_m is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
clearing cashes

OK, Thanks Dave. Mac Pilot gives me the ability to clear user cashes, but I'm not sure what clearing the System Cache is. Do you happen to know if this means running "Cron" scripts, rebuilding/updating Launch Services Database, Prebinding, or DNS Cache? Mac Pilot doesn't give me a general "clear system cache."

Thanks, jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-04-2009, 09:58 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,761
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It's likely significantly more than that, Jeremy: there are a lot of system caches. I'm not sure what's really causing the problem here, as it doesn't happen to me - this is just what has worked for others.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-04-2009, 10:01 AM
jeremy_m jeremy_m is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
OK. I'd love to get this solved, both for me, as I would like to have my MBP shut down, and for clients that are bugging me about this. Would sending you detailed system specs help you troubleshoot this? -jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-04-2009, 10:04 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,761
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Not really, no - if cache clearing works (as it has for others) there's nothing in the configuration that would indicate caches anyway: so, please try clearing the caches with Onyx (which is free).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-04-2009, 10:06 AM
jeremy_m jeremy_m is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 14
oynx it is

very good, thanks, will do.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cancel shut down during backup krumeich General 3 12-17-2008 09:38 AM
Auto shut down times out TSL General 40 09-07-2008 07:16 AM
Mac won't shut down after back up.... jmancino General 3 12-18-2006 11:00 PM
Shut down after backup bradleyjames General 1 07-09-2005 05:52 PM
Safety Clone fails to start up after shut down macWish General 4 06-23-2004 06:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.