Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-04-2009, 01:57 AM
eph3o eph3o is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Error making HD copy

I'm preparing to upgrade from 10.2.8 to 10.5.6 on my Powerbook G4. I don't do much of this type of thing so I'm very nervous about the whole process.

The first thing I needed to do was make a bootable back up, so I picked up a Firewire external HD, partitioned it, downloaded SuperDuper and figured this first step should be a piece of cake.

The copying barely gets going and I get and error and can't go any farther. I tried a few times and I get one of these two errors:

...Desktop/SuperDuper!.app/Contents/MacOS/SVUclone: Malformed Mach-o file

or:

****FAILED****: result=32256 errno=0 (Undefined error: 0)

This has already become a headache and I haven't even start the upgrade yet.

Can anybody give me some advice on these errors and on how I can get a simple bootable back up completed?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-04-2009, 02:32 AM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
To run SD! on 10.2.8 you'll need an older version; a download link is under System Requirements in the right column of the SuperDuper! page. That's probably the easiest/safest way to create a bootable backup of the internal 10.2.8 volume on an external volume, especially while this type of thing is still unfamiliar to you. Otherwise you'll need to boot from a 10.4 (or newer) volume to run the current version.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-04-2009, 02:44 AM
eph3o eph3o is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks, sjk for the quick reply.

I did download the earlier version 1.5.5 (v74) for my older OS.

Until I get the upgrade completed, I'm not looking at setting up anything fancy. I just need a simple bootable copy if something goes wrong in the upgrade or some apps don't run.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-04-2009, 03:11 AM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
If you're getting errors with 1.5.5 then I think Dave might have to help you figure out what's wrong.

If practical, you might want to do a clean install of Leopard instead of attempting an upgrade from Jaguar (if that's even supported -- I dunno) after you've got a backup. Not sure if Migration Assistant from 10.2 to 10.5 will work, or how well.

Years ago I first installed a major OS X update on an external drive volume, booted/configured/ran that for awhile, and when satisfied it worked cloned it (with SD!) to the internal drive volume. I never rebooted the older OS as needed, just copied over files to the new OS as needed until leaving the rest behind when overwriting the internal volume (which I also kept a sparse image backup of for awhile but never needed anything from it).

So, something similar would be another option for you though obviously more complicated.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-04-2009, 08:03 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,761
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Unless your download is somehow damaged, you're not really running 1.5.5, or your OS install is damaged, I don't know why this would happen. I have quite a few people running v1.5.5 on 10.2.8 -- it does work (and is the same distribution of SD! that was originally used for 10.2.8 support way-back-when).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-04-2009, 08:04 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,761
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
What you might want to try is installing a basic setup of OSX on a separate partition of the FW drive, run from that and use SD! there to copy your 10.2.8 setup...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-04-2009, 09:41 AM
eph3o eph3o is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
Good morning Dave and skj. My frustration has calmed after a good nights sleep. Thanks for your replies.

So Dave, are you kind of on the same page as skj in that I might try installing my new 10.5.6 on the FW drive, boot and run off of that? If that would work, everything would be safe and intact on my internal while working everything out on the FW.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-04-2009, 10:27 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,761
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, if you still have the discs, I'd actually do this temporary installation with 10.2.x (then upgrade to 10.2.8). That way, the differences in 10.5 -- and it does have a modified file system -- won't affect the 10.2.8 copy.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-04-2009, 11:10 AM
eph3o eph3o is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 5
I'll give that a try.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-04-2009, 03:56 PM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
That way, the differences in 10.5 -- and it does have a modified file system -- won't affect the 10.2.8 copy.
So, are you're saying a backup of the 10.2.8 filesystem volume using SD! on 10.5.x might have problems?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-04-2009, 05:00 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,761
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Not as far as 10.5 is concerned, but as far as 10.2.8 is concerned, yes - quite possible. I'd strongly advise against it.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-04-2009, 05:40 PM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
I'm struggling to understand the purpose of a temporary Jaguar installation you suggested. Seems redundantly unnecessary for making a backup of the internal 10.2.8 volume and doesn't provide a bootable Leopard migration environment like I'd mentioned.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-04-2009, 05:46 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,761
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It's to provide a clean environment in which to run SD so he can copy the 10.2.8 drive to another drive without doing it from Leopard (which could cause the content to not work properly with 10.2.8).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-04-2009, 10:37 PM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
I was thinking that would only be an option if SD! 1.5.5 couldn't be run under the current 10.2.8 system, and not that SD! would be run from a Leopard volume to create the 10.2.8 backup.

Anyway, I don't want to make this more confusing for eph3o so that's enough about that.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-05-2009, 08:22 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,761
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
But that's where he started, Scott: 1.5.5 won't run for him under 10.2.8 for some reason... so I'm trying to create a clean 10.2.8 environment for him so he can get his copy done.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Booting from backup guruuno General 27 10-17-2009 12:53 AM
Failed to copy szygi General 3 05-08-2009 08:11 AM
Failed to copy error lmatheo General 1 03-20-2009 09:27 AM
SD! & HDD copy speed fun DaleMeyn General 3 03-20-2006 05:24 PM
Error: No space left on device tradervic General 11 06-29-2005 05:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.